Free Pastor Saeed Abedini

It’s Wednesday and this is the day we change our Facebook profile pictures to one of Pastor Saeed Abedini, the imprisoned Christian Pastor being held in an Iranian prison for simply being a Christian.

While I can’t possibly relate to what Abedini and his daily struggles are I do know what it’s like to be a long way from home.

I was blessed to have great friends both in Corfu and in the states that I knew cared about me and able to demonstrate that daily. That helped me through the rough times for sure.

Outside of family visits Saeed is mostly surrounded by people who want to make him suffer and see him dead.

When Jesus was on the cross He cried out “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me” and I’m sure Saeed has had similar thoughts during his imprisonment.

Of course Jesus wasn’t forsaken and neither has he forsaken Saeed.

That’s why we change our profile pictures every Wednesday. We want Saeed and his family to know that we do care and haven’t forgotten him. Hopefully it helps him through the rough times as well.

So please feel free to use the image at the top of this posting and replace your Facebook or Twitter profile picture with that of Saeed Abedini.

Did you know that Michael Newnham, aka the Phoenix Preacher and I are hosting a brand new weekly radio program called Calvin’s Corner? On this weeks show we talked about Saeed Abedini and plenty of other topics that I think you’ll enjoy. I’ll leave the player below or you can download the program to your portable listening device by right clicking the image below and selecting “save as”

Calvin's Corner header

 

 

 

 

[audio http://media.blubrry.com/calvinscorner/archive.org/download/CalvinsCorner2JohnCalvinOnGrace/CalvinsCorner2.mp3]
