An Open Letter To Steve Jobs

The world lost an amazing man yesterday. Steve Jobs, the man who helped bring the world to the fingertips of millions, passed away of Pancreatic cancer at the age of 56.

Dear Mr. Jobs,

First of all I would like to say that I have never owned a product of yours but I know plenty who do. They not only love your products but love you as well. Even though most of my friends have never even met you they feel like they lost a dear friend today and I’m saddened for them and their loss.

Admittedly, I didn’t know that much about you. I knew of your company but I never knew you were ill until this morning when I learned that you had passed away. I wish I had known because I would have prayed for you.

There are plenty of folks out there using Google to determine whether or not you were a professing Christian. There are some that are even speculating about where you are now spending eternity. More disturbing than that is there are some professing Christians who are even gloating that you are now spending eternity separated from the loving and righteous God who gave you life.

I wish you could come back and end all this speculation but only one Man did that and this is what He had to say about all of this right before He was crucified;

John 14:6

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

The awesome thing about all of this is that you, or anyone else for that matter, can come to the Father through Christ right up until the last millisecond of your life and all is forgiven. I think some of those gloaters probably forgot about that unless of course they have the online copy of the Lambs Book of Life in their possession.

There’s more to all of that then just a profession of faith and I’m sure you know that now as well.

Acts 3:19

Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out,

It’s really all there is and I hope and pray that someone was able to tell you these things and more importantly that you believed those things, but that’s between you and God.

Did you?

I guess we’ll just have to wait and see won’t we? I suppose in the meantime we should be telling anyone and everyone we know about Jesus so folks won’t have to speculate where their dearly departed loved ones are spending eternity like many are speculating about yours.

Steve, whether you realize this or not your vision of an unbelievable product has made an impact on God’s Kingdom here on earth. My hope is that that Kingdom made an impact on you while you were here on earth.

I’m keeping your family, friends and loyal supporters in my prayers.

May God have mercy on your soul Mr. Jobs. I hope that one day I will meet you in heaven!

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter To Steve Jobs

  1. Jobs was a remarkable talent. Kind of a Henry Ford of the personal computer. It’s terrible that he had to suffer such a fate at his age. I know nothing of his personal life, but feel very sad in his passsing.

  2. As a leadership development and strategy consultant I often use Apple case studies and the Steve Jobs address to Stanford graduation in my workshops. So feel I kinda knew him! I guess all Apple users feel the same!

    When famous,influential people die prematurely (like Princess Di, Michael Jackson and a host of other rock stars like Elvis, Hendrix, Corbain, Whinehouse…!) I guess we are reminded that we are all human and fragile and live in sin cursed world where we must all face the reality of death.

    Praise God for Him who conquered death and gives us hope in the resurrection!

Comments are closed.