Blessed Assurance Jesus is Mine!

Blessed assurance is a classic hymn and one of my all-time favorites.

I don’t see how anyone believing that somehow they had something to do with their salvation could honestly sing this song…..how could they ever be sure they wouldn’t wind up ultimately rejecting God?

The Arminian believers sure do puzzle me.

Are you blessedly assured that your salvation is secure?

Is your eternal destiny something that concerns you? Are you certain that you are indeed truly saved?

I know these are tough questions for a Friday.

Tough questions usually produce tough answers and the Apostle Paul desired the Corinthians, and us, to do the following;

2Corinthians 13:5

Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you–unless, of course, you fail the test?

A good place to start would be the First Epistle of St. John. There are plenty of tests found within those few short chapters that I know will help aid you in testing yourself to see if you are in the faith.

I’m fairly certain that there are other Scriptures one could use to test oneself but that’s all I could think of at 5am!

I know folks who think that if one’s theology is correct than they are truly in the faith but John Calvin said, and I’m paraphrasing him, that if one’s theology doesn’t produce godliness than the individual has bad theology.

Test yourself. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blessed Assurance Jesus is Mine!

  1. Amen Phil!! I am reminded of Jesus’s mild rebuke of the 72 who came back from mission all excited about casting out demons! he said dont rejoice in this but that your name is written in the lamb’s book of life! (A good reminder to all in Christendom who love to focus on the sensational!)

    Revelations 13:8 says these names were written in that book “before the foundation of the world”!

    Hallelujah! What assurance!

  2. 𝄞 And then one day, I’ll cross the river.
    I’ll fight life’s final war with pain.
    And then as death gives way to victory,
    I’ll see the lights of glory and I’ll know he lives.

    Because He lives, I can face tomorrow.
    Because He lives, all fear is gone.
    Because I know He holds the future.
    And life is worth the living just because He lives. 𝄞

Comments are closed.