Juanita Bynum Typing in Tongues?

I’ve been operating this itsy bitsy little blog for nearly five years and over the course of those years I’ve seen some really strange stuff but what I just read here could possibly be the strangest thus far.

Juanita Bynum is typing in tongues?

The Apostle Paul instructed the Corinthians (and us)

1 Corinthians 14: 14-17

For if I pray in a tongue, my spirit prays but my mind is unfruitful.

What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also; I will sing praise with my spirit, but I will sing with my mind also. Otherwise, if you give thanks with your spirit, how can anyone in the position of an outsider say “Amen” to your thanksgiving when he does not know what you are saying? For you may be giving thanks well enough, but the other person is not being built up.

I’m fairly certain someone will label me a liberal or a continuationist for saying this but I don’t have a problem with Juanita or anyone else praying in the Spirit, and if the Spirit provokes the sounds of an unknown language than that’s fine by me. There is nothing in the above text that prohibits this…..in fact Jesus had something very germane to say about this subject;

Matthew 6:5-6

“And when you pray, you must not be like the hypocrites. For they love to stand and pray in the synagogues and at the street corners, that they may be seen by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

I’m sure some of you are wondering just what Jesus command to pray in private has to do with praying or typing in tongues ….well, in order to get it we must return to what the Apostle Paul instructed the church at Corinth;

1Corinthians 14:15-17

What am I to do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will pray with my mind also; I will sing praise with my spirit, but I will sing with my mind also. Otherwise, if you give thanks with your spirit, how can anyone in the position of an outsider say “Amen” to your thanksgiving when he does not know what you are saying? For you may be giving thanks well enough, but the other person is not being built up.

How did Juanita’s typing in tongues build anyone up? More importantly why didn’t she simply listen to Jesus and do her praying in private? And that’s the point here people. It didn’t, she didn’t and it made her look awfully silly. Remember what Paul said about this;

1Corinthians 14:23

If, therefore, the whole church comes together and all speak in tongues, and outsiders or unbelievers enter, will they not say that you are out of your minds?

That’s exactly what people are saying about Juanita…..that she is out of her mind. That’s not good for her or the Christianity that she claims to profess.

Spiritual gifts are given by God and are to be used to build up and edify the Body of Christ. I fail to see how praying or typing in tongues edifies anyone other than the one doing the praying and therefore should be done in private when it’s just you and God.

Hat Tip to Steve Lumbley

3 thoughts on “Juanita Bynum Typing in Tongues?

  1. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!? And if you read the comments, some people are DEFENDING that mess! Some sick folk won’t be dragged kicking and screaming to a hospital.

Comments are closed.