Thank God For Baseball and True Baseball Fans!!!

The 2011 Major League Baseball season began for some teams yesterday. The NY Mets open their season tonight at 7:10pm against the Florida Marlins.

Thank God for baseball!!

True baseball fans can be very passionate about their teams. They wear the caps, jerseys, wave the pennants and can be and are very vocal about their team of choice. True baseball fans blog, do podcasts and many fans participate on forums where they disagree with each other on everything from who is the best ballplayer of all time right down to who serves the best mustard at the ballpark.

Thank God for baseball!!

For the most part true baseball fans, at least those I’ve met online over the last few years, are incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the sport, the players and teams and most importantly they know why they are baseball fans. They understand how the game works and they know the difference between the amateurs and the professionals.

Thank God for baseball!!

Being away from America and unable to find anyone here that knows or even wants to talk about baseball I’ve found a few forums and enjoy those a whole lot more than most of the Christian forums and blogs I’ve seen. Notice I said most and not all.

Thank God for baseball!!

Participating on some of the various baseball forums where I hang out at can be an adventure. Sometimes things can get downright nasty. Words can be said in the heat of the battle and sometimes those words directed at a favorite player or team can be sharp and quite pointed but rarely if ever do anyone’s feelings get hurt.

Thank God for baseball!!

True baseball fans understand there is a distinction to be made between the team one supports and the fan. That means these discussions aren’t personal. The only time I’ve ever seen the term “sell-out” being directed at someone was because they switched teams. I’ve never seen anyone labeled a “compromiser” for choosing nachos over hot dogs as their ballpark food of choice nor have I ever seen anyone criticized for how they arrived at the ballpark. True baseball fans are just happy that you showed up!

Thank God for baseball!!!

If there is anyone left still reading this blog have you noticed something? I haven’t mentioned the nasty folks who claim to be true baseball fans. They are everywhere and very easy to spot. The good thing is they usually get the boot before they cause too much trouble and ruin the place for the authentic ones who know how to behave and are there because they love the game of baseball.

Thanks God for baseball!!!

In all the years I’ve been participating on the various baseball forums I’ve never seen any true baseball fan brag about how many times they’ve been banned from a forum nor have I ever heard of forums where there are separate rules for Mets fans and a different set of rules for everyone else meaning allowing the Mets fans or whomever a “little leeway” because their opponents supported another team.

Thank God for baseball!!!

I thank God for baseball and true baseball fans everywhere. Many of them don’t even profess Christianity yet conduct themselves far better than most Christians I know. My experiences with both make me wonder why those naming themselves Christians, and I include myself on that list, can’t be as civil towards one another as those I meet on the various baseball forums.

Some Scripture to ponder during the 7th inning stretch wherever you are watching your favorite team.

Galatians 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.

1Peter 3:15-17

but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect, having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame. For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil

Enjoy the 2011 baseball season!!!!

Tonight’s starting lineup for the NY Mets;

SS Jose Reyes

LF Willie Harris

3B David Wright

RF Carlos Beltran

CF Angel Pagan

1B Ike Davis

2B Brad Emaus

C Josh Thole

P Mike Pelfrey

Go get ‘em Metsies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 thoughts on “Thank God For Baseball and True Baseball Fans!!!

  1. Roderick,

    How many times have I asked you not to ever contact me again? Why can’t you honor my wishes?

    Go away you pathetic little worthless troll…..

  2. Roderick,

    What about this don’t you get? I want you to stop contacting me yet you continue. I don’t want to “interact” with you EVER about ANYTHING.

    I stepped aside as Pastor June 15, 2010 so you can stop playing that card as well.

    Cowardly? Because I don’t want anything to do with you? Do you really want too see why I don’t want to interact with you?

    This is what you said a couple years back;
    http://theologytoday.podbean.com/2009/03/19/cowardly-christian-bloggers-part-2/#comment-199128

    A few months later you stated my podcasts drip with smug arrogance as well as other derogatory things. Either you were lying in the beginning or lying at the end. Either way you were playing false and I don’t like that one bit.

    Now I must go to work at MY tennis academy. Thank you for more proof that you are an obsessed weirdo stalker.

    Goodbye loser troll…..

    Phil

  3. Roderick,

    What don’t you get about do not contact me ever again?

    I have ZERO desire to do a podcast with you or anything else with you. Go away!

    BTW: The “sell out” and “compromiser” quotes had nothing whatsoever to do with you. Believe it or not but the world is a bit bigger than you and your fantasies. Chris Rosebrough is being called a “sell out” and a “compromiser” and a whole lot worse by some of his former friends. I can sympathize with that….

    http://www.fightingforthefaith.com/2011/03/ingrid-warns-the-church-about-michael-horton.html

    http://www.fightingforthefaith.com/2011/03/ingrids-bridge-to-no-where.html

    According to your rules he’s a compromising sell out as well…..you should call him out. James Metzger is also a sellout according to your rules as well. Fortunately none of us play by your rules nor does any sane person. You are just plain weird.

    Rod, go ahead and criticize me all you like on your own site. You won’t do it here and as I’ve already demonstrated your “critiques” are motivated solely by whomever you’re in a disagreement with. It seems the list is growing daily.

    As I told you in the telephone message I left for you I don’t want anything to do with you. Stop contacting me. I don’t trust you. Capice??

    Phil

  4. Don’t trust me???? Phil you’re the one who says, “I’m accountable to the GOC” then turn around and say you would tell the Greek Patriarch to “kiss your butt” — wow, that is really a person to trust.

    Feel free to call again and I”ll answer. Maybe we can resolve some issues. (P.S. who is Regina?)

  5. Roderick,

    The purpose for my call was to inform you not to contact me ever again yet you still do. What part of that don’t you get?

    Where have I EVER told the Patriarch of Constantinople to “kiss my butt”? I want you to be specific here and not you allowing your imagination to run wild. And even if I did, which I didn’t, why would that matter to you? How would that affect you? I have plenty of witnesses to what I said and if you remember I stated “he told me to kiss his ring and I told him he could kiss something else….what was it that I actually said? Read the following link stalker boy and get a whiff of what would happen to me or anyone else here in Greece that messes with the church.
    http://www.religioustolerance.org/rt_greec.htm

    As far as trusting you is concerned I have plenty of documented reasons as to why I don’t trust you. Stop playing your childish little games and grow up.

    Issues? The only thing I want to see you resolve is your slander of Dr. Talbot and Dee Dee (among others). Until you do I won’t have anything to do with you.

    Regina? I don’t know anyone by that name.

    Go away troll.

    Phil

Comments are closed.