Suicide is Painless????

Yesterday I was informed via email that a relative had “passed away suddenly”. Since he was the same age as me I called home to inquire as to the cause of his death. The song below answers my question.

“Passed away suddenly” sounds much better than “he hung himself in his garage”, doesn’t it?

I’m not getting into the “is he in heaven” debate for a couple of reasons. To the best of my knowledge he wasn’t a born again believer in the Lord Jesus Christ and the other reason is I’m just not quite sure how God views (as it equates to eternity) the suicide of a believer in Christ. To put it bluntly I’ve never looked into the matter because it (suicide) has never affected me and rather than give some sort of half-baked answer I just leave it be…….for now.

Now back to the song from the video and please read the chorus below;

That suicide is painless

It brings on many changes

and I can take or leave it if I please.

Suicide is painless? Maybe it is for the one doing the deed but I can state as an absolute fact, at least in my relatives situation, his death caused GREAT pain and heartache to those he selfishly left behind. His two daughters are suffering and will suffer for the rest of their lives. They’ll always wonder why their father didn’t love them enough to live for them. Every important day of their lives they will wish he was there and wonder why he didn’t want to be part of their lives any longer. Maybe they will spend the rest of their lives hating him for what he did. Hopefully they won’t but that is a real possibility isn’t it?

His parents will always wonder what they could have done differently to prevent this tragedy from happening. Currently they are blaming themselves because they feel they should have seen the warning signs. This was and is a close family so they are going to miss him terribly during the Holidays and other family gatherings. Even tough he was 46 years old he will ALWAYS be their baby and NO PARENT should ever have to bury their child. As my Uncle Morty says “It ain’t natural”!

I would have to say suicide is extremely painful, would you agree?

As you can see my relatives suicide brought many changes. His earthly troubles are over and those who loved him have had their lives turned upside down. I wonder if he gave any thought to what his desperate final act would do to those who were left behind? I guess he answered that question , huh?

Take or leave  it if I please? Obviously there is choice to made. To live or to die. I didn’t know my relative very well but he must have been absolutely desperate to see death as his only way out. He chose death over his family, friends and everything else. He chose not to live didn’t he?

The Apostle Paul, no stranger to difficult times, stated that to live is Christ and to die is gain (Philippians).  Paul even stated there were times he didn’t know which one he would chose. Ultimately he chose life. In his words ” to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account (v24)”. Paul was convinced of this. I wish my relative would have thought this way.

Finally, if anyone reading this is contemplating suicide, think about those who you will be leaving behind. I know they would want you to think like the Apostle Paul. Your presence is necessary to someones account. You are needed and wanted by someone in this world and my prayer for you is that you reach out to those people and just allow them to love you through your pain. My relative didn’t do that and look at the mess he made.

Chose to live until God calls you home!!!

One thought on “Suicide is Painless????

Comments are closed.