Is The “Great Commision” For Everyone? by Boyd Miller

Every church goer has heard the “Great Commission” as recorded in Matthew 28:18-20, and in  a somewhat similar manner in Mark 16:15-18 and Luke 24: 46-49. This scripture has been used as the basis for  missions, crusades, TV programing and taught as an obligation of every believer. Jesus spoke this command to the eleven remaining apostles after his resurrection in each of these recorded accounts. So my questions are;

1. Was this command fulfilled by the eleven?

2. If not does this lend to the argument of the continuists?

3. If you are a cessationist, how do you deal with Mark16:17-18?

4. In Matthew 28:20(NKJV) Jesus said, “teaching THEM to observe all things that I have commanded YOU; and lo, I am with YOU always, even to the end of the age.” Was this commission for the apostles only?

5 thoughts on “Is The “Great Commision” For Everyone? by Boyd Miller

  1. I think the answer lies in the verse itself. Jesus commissioned the apostles to teach people to obey everything he commanded which included preaching and baptism.

    If people were to obey this, they in turn have to preach and baptize. Therefore the commission was for the apostles and to all who receive apostolic teaching. I think this also answers Q1 & 2.

    Concerning Q3, I’m glad I’m not a cessationist 😈

  2. Hey Phil,

    I checked out your article and comments and I think we are on the same page( yours is better than mine). I am kind of settled on the issue but am always opened minded. As the old golf pro said, “I’ll give a lesson or take one”.

    Arthur,

    Well the continueist position does seem to be the best at fundraising. It is kind of a defining issue and thanks for input. I personally have been on both sides at one time or the other.

    Boyd

  3. Hi Phil and Boyd:

    Wow, that really clears some things up for me. I read both of your statements and I have been struggling with that verse on and off for years. We were called “wicked unbelievers” if we didn’t do the things outlined in the Commission. If signs didn’t follow, it was our fault, and we were going to hell (the first ones in the pit are the fearful and unbelievers).

    Just the other day I had someone ask me what the recent signs and wonders were in my life. I know that God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him, and He blesses our obediance…But to demand that we demonstrate the same works as the Apostles to prove our faith? hmmm. Whenever there is healing. or deliverance takes place, it’s God’s grace in our lives. To boast of our great faith and obediance to the commission is just pride and trust in OUR works.

    Isabel

Comments are closed.