Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos

When Tyndale Media sent me the book Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos, I must admit I wasn’t all that thrilled to be reviewing this book as part of their blogger book review program. I really wasn’t all that interested in reading this book let alone reviewing it because I figured it was just another “fluffy feel good” book.

Man, was I wrong.

Matt Mikalatos takes the reader through an incredible journey and one that many of us find ourselves in. This journey? Sorting through the false impressions of who we think Jesus really is based on our imaginations and finding out that the Jesus we have imagined isn’t the Jesus of the Bible.

This book is hilarious and while I found myself laughing out loud at some of the “imaginary Jesuses” Mikalatos encounters in the book I also recognized a few of the “imaginary Jesuses” I either worshiped in the past and sad to say discovered a few “imaginary Jesuses” I still believe exist.

Mikalatos isn’t just a funny storyteller but a man who went on a journey and discovered some real biblical truths which resonate throughout this book. This “not quite a true story” has plenty of truth’s in it and I highly recommend “Imaginary Jesus” to anyone who believes they have discovered the “true Jesus”. You might be surprised at what you will discover. I know I was and you will be too!

Disclaimer: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers as part of their Tyndale Media Center Blog Network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

4 thoughts on “Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos

  1. Phil, thanks so much for this great review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it! Tyndale is going to hold a contest for people to share their own imaginary Jesuses and the grand prize is a trip to hang out with me in Portland plus a Kindle and an iPod and a bunch of other swag. You can see that at http://myimaginaryjesus.com.

    Let me know if there’s anything I can for for you here at Theology Today. I’d love to help out with a podcast or answer reader questions or anything like that. Thanks again, Phil! I am so pleased that a discerning reader like yourself enjoyed the book.

    –Matt

  2. Nice review. Seems to be an even nicer read. Man, how does a brother get on one of those “I’m official press” blog lists, anyway? 🙂

    Peace, brother.

  3. I just finished “imaginary Jesus”.Guess i’m probably behind the times but this book needs to be devoured by many of my brothers and sisters,probably almost as much as i needed it.I’m going to try to purchase a copy (I have mine on kindle) to loan and share with those at my church,and anyone else who will agree to read it.Also going to search for the other book next.Thank you for this much needed blast of reality check !

Comments are closed.