The Voice of Psalms by The Voice

Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me the book The Voice of Psalms by The Voice to review as part of their blogger book review program. This book has its plusses and minuses and this is what I thought about this book.

One of the things I liked about the book was the various reading plans. They have plans for Advent, Lent, for comfort and guidance as well as for praise. As someone who has greatly benefited from the Psalms I was happy to see this and I hope those of you who do buy this book will utilize and incorporate it in your daily Bible devotions.

I also like the fact that after each Psalm there was a note from the various writers explaining the Psalm and helping the reader gain additional insights as well as applying what they’ve read into their daily lives. This is very important and something else I was happy to see.

The main reason that I can’t personally recommend this book is due to the fact the name of God was replaced with “The Eternal One” in all of the Psalms and in several of the comments and insights from the various writers. In my opinion it’s not much different then the statue of the unknown god Paul saw in Athens (Acts 17). When can know God and we don’t have to change His name in order to do so. Again, this is only my opinion.

The book was well written and had an easy to read style and while I’m sure there will be some who benefit from this book I can’t recommend it based on my concerns listed in the above paragraph.

I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

