Roderick Edwards: A Wolf in Sheeps Clothing

We, at least Boyd and I, talk a LOT about money hungry thieving pimps pretending to be “ministers” hawking their wares like vendors at a circus. Most if not all of these thieving pimps would NEVER give ANYTHING away for free. Roderick Edwards has seemingly fallen in line with the lying thieving pimps, attacking the character of a man who has done the opposite of what the pimps do and exactly what Jesus commanded His disciples to do;

Matthew 10:5-15

These twelve Jesus sent out with the following instructions: “Do not go among the Gentiles or enter any town of the Samaritans. Go rather to the lost sheep of Israel. As you go, preach this message: ‘The kingdom of heaven is near.’ Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, drive out demons. Freely you have received, freely give. Do not take along any gold or silver or copper in your belts; take no bag for the journey, or extra tunic, or sandals or a staff; for the worker is worth his keep. “Whatever town or village you enter, search for some worthy person there and stay at his house until you leave. As you enter the home, give it your greeting. If the home is deserving, let your peace rest on it; if it is not, let your peace return to you. If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town. I tell you the truth, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgment than for that town.

Jesus was instructing His disciples not to sell their spiritual gifts but to give them away freely, as they received their gifts freely from Him. Teaching is one of those gifts yet “Railing Roderick” would rather accuse an elder of “buying his influence” rather then recognizing a generous man doing EXACTLY what he feels led by God to do.

I have a plaque that hangs behind my desk at the tennis academy that bears my name. It reads “No good deed ever goes unpunished” and I’m sorry to say but this supposed “Christian” has made those words come to life with his unfounded accusations against an elder who has faithfully served the Body of Christ. Dr. Kenneth Talbot’s crime? Giving away free books, DVD’s and scholarships to deserving students he feels God has led him to feed.

Wait! Unless the recipients of Dr. Talbot’s generosity came to his Seminary, or house, or whatever, to pick up the freebies, he had to send them which means, unless Dr. Talbot has a flock of carrier pigeons in his backyard (do you sir cause that would be cool), he had to pay for this out of his own pocket!

Dr. Talbot, you have some nerve to do these things! Anathema to you sir (but I think Boyd might adopt you!)!!!!

I say break out the green wood and let’s roast this heretic, this Dr. Talbot! How DARE he be generous to those he cares about and wants to see become better Christians and teachers/apologists/pastors! Again, anathema to this Dr. Talbot!!!

How dare Dr. Talbot give away scholarships to deserving students who may not have the coins to benefit from his Seminary! How dare he show charity and love for others rather then enlarge his bank account! I think Dr. Talbot needs to spend more time here at Theology Today learning from the pimps we criticize for doing the OPPOSITE of what he’s done!

See, Dr. Talbot hasn’t figured out quite yet that its better to have bad theology       and a big bank account then to have solid theology and freely give to those in  need. Apparently you get hammered either way so it’s better to be rich and criticized then poor and criticized……forget about feeding the sheep Dr. Talbot you are supposed to be FLEECING them!

OK. Now its time to be serious……….

I find it HIGHLY hypocritical of Roderick Edwards (no news there huh) that he could even SPEAK about ethics and morality when his has been questioned here here here and here and he has failed to respond to ANY of the SEVERAL ethical concerns raised.

I wonder what 2000 years of Christianity would say about that, huh Roderick. Wonder what Calvin and Luther and Warfield and whoever else you stumble across on Wikipedia would say about HYPOCRISY……..Jesus had this to say;

Matthew 7:3-5

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.

The bottom line? Roderick got his hat handed to him by Dr. Talbot in a debate here here and here (1) and when no one came to his defense he lashed out just like a spoiled little boy who didn’t get his way. This is EXACTLY the way he acted during his 15 years as a Hyper Preterist. Ironic huh?

The only thing Roderick Edwards gives freely is grief and bad theology, something he has an abundance of. He is the PERFECT example of a wolf in sheep’s clothing.

I also find it interesting how Roderick compares what goes on in the world (politicians, his office) with Dr. Talbot freely feeding the sheep as he’s commanded to do. I guess since Roderick is OF this world he’s only talking about what he knows. Perhaps Roderick should turn off Fox News, shut down his computer, and spend some time with Jesus…….since that probably won’t be happening anytime soon a psychiatrist is DEFINITELY in order.

Yep, a wolf in sheep’s clothing is putting it mildly where Roderick Edwards is concerned.

Well, that’s going to wrap it up around here for 2009. I want to thank each and every one of my faithful readers for your support and prayers during what has been a difficult 2009 here at Theology Today.

On behalf of Boyd Miller and myself, we would like to wish you a healthy, happy pimp and wolf free 2010! May God Bless Each and Every One of You and if Jesus doesn’t return we’ll be back in 2010!

1). Preterist Blog has disassociated itself with Mr. Edwards

24 thoughts on “Roderick Edwards: A Wolf in Sheeps Clothing

  1. Roderick is finally getting whats coming to him and its about darn time. He has reeked havoc for far too long and I for one hope he repents and comes to Christ.

    Phil, you know you will be a target now. I’ll be praying for you.

  2. @anonymous — apparently not enough for you to have the guts to identify yourself with at least a known screen name

    @Phil It is absolutely ghastly that Dr. Talbot is being attacked for his good deeds, but then great will be his reward in Heaven. I am absolutely disgusted at the lack of respect for such an elder (both in terms of age and office). Roderick, nor anyone else, knows how powerfully God has used Dr. Talbot to keep me strong and fighting through this most terrible time of my life. While it is hard to see him attacked, I know that he will hear, “Well done, My good and faithful servant.”

  3. Phil, I see you are now being stalked by those who once decryed the practice. Man, that makes me sick. I am glad that I no longer have to fear repurcussions at home from these creeps as they will surely make me a target again. But then again, I already posted everything including my phone number. If they want to tattle on me, they can email Dr.Talbot. Whoops. Guess they don’t want to do that. I submit my behaviour to his oversight until such time as I have a new home church.

    Who is the pastoral oversight over Simmons and Edwards? (PS: I don’t really want to know, I just want to show the hypocrisy. I don’t care to get that enmeshed in people’s personal lives.)

  4. Hi,

    I posted the following on the link below but it was deleted…

    http://hyperpreteristnews.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/rcm-censors-the-anti-preterist/#comment-136

    Roderick,

    You said;

    Lastly, as for the accountability question, yes my elders know of my activities against hyperpreterism (I had a 2 hr talk with them about it) and you know what, they are perhaps even a bit more “rude” than I am, since they had actually kicked me out when I was still a hyperpreterist. Why didn’t they “respect” me? Why didn’t they “love” me in some chickified way that seems to be infesting Christianity these days. — the point is, they DID and DO love me and respect me by not validating me in my heresy or trying to proffer some alternative, personally crafted eschatology, called “Realized Preterism”.

    Do these “elders” know about the accusations you’ve leveled against Dr. Talbot, specifically that Dr. Talbot buys his influence, that he is an “elitist showboat” a “compromiser” and on and on?

    You claimed they kicked you out and they loved and respected you by not validating you or your heresy. On December 27, 2007 you told Pastor Gene Cook Jr. that you resided in a Reformed Presbyterian Church for over 6 years, and because as you say they wanted to avoid any confrontation and allowed you to remain even though your beliefs went against their confessions. To your credit you did say it was wrong of your elders to allow you to stay. Listen to the following link from about the 35 minute mark.

    [audio src="http://podcast.unchainedradio.com/podcast/nm12292007l.mp3" /]

    Why didn’t you tell Sharon the truth? Why did you make it seem like your elders tossed you out from day one when you told Pastor Cook they let you stick around for 6 years? Sounds to me like your elders DID coddle your heresy by allowing you to remain, at least according to your logic.

    I also couldn’t help but notice that you used the term Full Preterism and not Hyper. Why didn’t you call them “hypers” like you demand everyone else does? Why didn’t you tell everyone that HP was HERESY? That’s what you DEMAND everyone else to do right?

    Do you even KNOW what “Realized Preterism” is?

    Roderick said;

    “Eldership doesn’t work as you are portraying it. Whether you want to “take the blame” or not, elders have “charge over their flock”. It appears you want Talbot to be able to exert his authority but without the responsibility.”

    http://hyperpreteristnews.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/rcm-censors-the-anti-preterist/#comment-129

    Since you are not an Elder and claim to be under the authority of an elder AND you claim these Elders know about your activities, as an Ordained Elder I’m demanding that you have them contact me IMMEDIATELY as I desire to press charges against you and your Elders through your/their denomination for defamation of character and slander. As you said, elders have “charge over their flock”. Let’s see what all they know and how much charge they have over you. I’ll get into the specifics with them and them alone.

    Finally, Roderick said

    I’ve done nothing wrong in regards to how I have addressed hyperpreterism OR those coddling hyperpreterists, nor am I “afraid” of anything Sharon — Oh how hyperpreterist of you to claim such. Please be specific as I have been specific, or otherwise cease commenting. Thanks.

    If it’s true you’ve done nothing wrong then I’ll expect to be hearing from your Pastor within the next few days.

    No more excuses. No more of your little games and foolishness. This is SERIOUS and you’d better believe I will be following through.

    Phil

    • Hi All,

      Roderick responds!

      No desire to interact with Phil. Let him post that junk on his own site. I’m glad it didn’t make it past automatic moderation….but the man attempted to post the same thing 3 times??? Wow!

      I wouldn’t want to interact with what I posted either…….wonder what Brian Simmons is thinking after he read that?

      Roderick nattered;

      Phil already posted his comments on his site. They contain more threats to take actions against me. Phil is desperate to be the “champion” that finally takes down that meanie Roderick Edwards. Phil needs to go do another condescending podcast to get his mind off me and back on himself where it has been since I’ve known this fellow.

      I’m not desperate about anything. This guy is a piece of work. In blockquotes is a comment I was gonna post on their site;

      Roderick nattered;

      Brian, I hardly think the picture you posted of Phil compared to the slop photo shop job he tried to do and only took down once someone had the guts to tell him he was being a jerk. The guy is a smug man — just listen to ANY of his podcasts — they drip narcissism.

      http://hyperpreteristnews.wordpress.com/2009/12/27/who-is-phil-naessens-2/#comment-115 (see explanation at the bottom of this comment)

      Now go and read the comments from RE at the links below;

      http://theologytoday.podbean.com/2009/03/19/cowardly-christian-bloggers-part-2/

      http://theologytoday.podbean.com/2009/03/19/cowardly-anonymous-bloggers-part-1/

      So, which is it? These were definitely ANY podcasts. Of course this was before I began to see what a liar and hypocrite he was and LONG before I publicly exposed him. I also don’t remember anyone calling me a jerk either. Care to cite that reference in its context Rod?

      Geez, wonder why he didn’t say anything then?

      The podcasts are no longer there. I had to remove them when I bought additional space from the site hosting the podcasts.

      Roderick nattered;

      Now, I will delete any other comments from Phil on anything I have posted. I have no desire to read the words of such a man.

      Apparently he DOES read my words as he knew the comment he didn’t have the courage to publish was published here and elsewhere. What’s odd about him not publishing my comment is he ASKED for us to hold him accountable and when I did, by his rules of citing and in context, he runs away like a chicken…..check out the link below;

      http://hyperpreteristnews.wordpress.com/2009/12/27/who-is-phil-naessens-2/#comment-127

      Roderick nattered;

      Besides, if Talbot has an issue, let HIM call me or contact me to discuss it. This is just ANOTHER example of Phil inserting himself in other people’s business…a habit of Phil’s.

      Actually the libel and slander has nothing to do with Dr. Talbot. These are MY charges on behalf of myself and many other ORTHODOX Christians RE has lied to/about and slandered.

      Someone wrote to me yesterday asking if “Dorothy” who has been giving Roderick and Brian the false information about me and my teachings to Brian was the same Dorothy that use to comment here. Sadly its the same Dorothy.

      Phil

  5. Hi Phil,

    It is telling that Roderick refuses to post your comment at his site. He does need to answer to the charges presented. But, in typical fashion, he tries to turn this around to make you the bad guy, thereby running from the charges.

    Thanks for posting this Phil. You have my support on this.

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  6. Sharon,

    Thanks!

    Roderick has always been afraid of me because he knows I see right through his garbage…..but he’s even more afraid of the truth huh?

    Roderick will NEVER own up to his lies, hypocrisy and blatant double standards. He believes he’s above inquiry and accountability yet demands the same from others.

    Did you see how he tried to butter me up in the comments section on my podcast site? See how well he lies?

    I notice Brian didn’t have too much to say about the little fella banning my comment. Oh well. I guess “the enemy of my enemy is my friend” is true in this case. What a far cry from a year ago!

    http://preterist.wordpress.com/2008/07/28/the-ridiculous-rantings-of-roderick/

    Weird huh?

    Phil

  7. Hi All,

    Me thinks I struck a nerve;

    http://hyperpreteristnews.wordpress.com/2009/12/27/who-is-phil-naessens-2/#comment-155

    Now, I thought we are supposed to be our brothers keeper, at least according to Roderick;

    https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2009/02/09/is-minding-our-own-business-biblical/

    Also, wonder what happened to citing sources and context?

    All that anger…..gee whiz.

    Wait until he see’s what’s coming next:-)

    Happy New Year Everyone!

    Phil

  8. What I find amusing is the little digs Roderick has to try to get in at me at all the things he allegedly disliked about me when we were still partnering yet never said anything about. Nice admission about being a phoney friend. Whenever Roderick did anything I didn’t like I told him, very often publicly.

    With his latest, he conveniently ignores context, but ^shrug^ I don’t really care if he likes it or not. It is better than repeatedly emailing people after they asked you not to which Roderick has been accused of doing multiple times, and has done at least several times that I am aware of.

  9. Again, please enumerate, for me and your readers SPECIFICALLY how I’ve “lied”, how I’ve “slandered”, how I’ve “libeled”. My perspective that a seminary president giving away free gifts and positions to people insulating him is a form of “buying off” is AN OPINION. Even in politics, it is unseemly for a person in authority to give and receive such gratuities. That has been my only point about this issue. Now, again Phil — specifics please???

  10. Hi Phil,

    I finally had a chance to check out the links in your comment above. Wow… very interesting reading!

    Hope you don’t mind, but I posted this at Brian and Roderick’s new smear blog and at the moment its in moderation. Looks like they put me on moderation since my last post, although I don’t really know why. Anyway, I was encouraging Brian to ask Dr. Talbot himself about the Dr. Birks “issue” but since he hasn’t yet I decided to ask him myself. He sent me the following email and gave me permission to post it. I thought it would be appropriate to post it here too.

    —– Original Message —–
    From: Kenneth Talbot
    To: Mrs. Sharon Nichols
    Sent: Thursday, December 31, 2009 7:47 PM

    Sharon:

    Dorthy called me to clarify Dr. Birks status with the RPCGA (my denomination). She realized that she had misinterpreted what I had said and personally apologized to me for the confusion that it caused. Dr. Birks and Mr. Frost had approached the denomination at the 2000 or 2001 General Assembly about joining the denomination. At that time I and two other ministers meet with them and discussed their views on Preterism as it related to the nature of Adam and the resurrection of the dead. We informed them at that time that they need not make application for examination because they would not be accepted due to their views on the preceding doctrinal issues. Dr. Birks and I are currently carrying on a discussion about these doctrines. Dr. Birks clearly maintains much of the Westminster Confession and thereby is “Reformed” in much of his theology, but not in conformity with the historic Reformed confessions on the doctrines mentioned above. He is not and has never been with the RPCGA. Dr. Birks was originally with the OPC (Othodox Presbyterian Church) and the PCA (Presbyterian Church in America). He with drew from them due to doctrinal differences.

    I hope this clarifies the issue. Anyone stating anything contrary to what I have stated is violating the 9th Commandment and simply does not know that they are talking about. I understand that Dorthy has sought to correct the misunderstanding publicly and I thank her for following the teaching of Scripture in this matter. This demonstrates Dorthy is most willing to live her Christian faith in accordance with Scripture. She is to be commended!

    In Christ,

    Dr. Kenneth Talbot
    ===================

    Phil, keep up the good work! I was appalled to read Brian’s latest smear attempt leveled at you. Fortunately that Paschal fellow has no credibility at all, which is apparent with a quick google. I was amazed at the info that popped up! Even his own brother called him a liar and said he had mental issues.

    Blessings,
    Sharon

  11. I also asked Dr. Talbot about it and that is in fact what happened. Dr. Talbot would have answered that question for Brian if he had but asked.

  12. Hi,

    I tried to tell Brian what was going on without really telling him but he doesn’t understand apologetic’s or even ministry for that matter. B.S thinks apologetics is all about posting on websites and forums but here on planet earth that’s only a part of it…..a small part.

    There is also a lesson to be learned here. Be careful who you share things with because it may just wind up on some gossipy blog like Brian and Roderick’s.

    Phil

    PS: Dr. Talbot told me the EXACT same thing and had BS called him rather then listening to 3rd party gossip this whole situation would never have happened…..that boy from Mississippi is some apologist huh?

  13. […] Here's whats you've been reading Wolves in Sheep's ClothingJim and Lori Bakker: The Dog's Have Returned to Their Vomit by Boyd Miller15 Reasons to Avoid Paula White!A Response to Brian SimmonsCreflo Dollar and Leroy Thompson's Shuck and JiveA Response to Dr. Nasir Siddiki Apologist Greg BornsteinIs Dr. Nasir Siddiki a Hireling? I Think So.Are The Muslims Taking Over The World? by Dorothy AndersonShould Perry Noble Resign?Roderick Edwards: A Wolf in Sheeps Clothing […]

Comments are closed.