Oral Roberts

I’m still not feeling so hot so I’ll more then likely post my blog regarding 1Peter 3:16 this weekend. Someone asked me via email why I’ve been silent regarding the passing of Oral Roberts. I guess I have mixed thoughts.

My first thought was “I hope he was one of the elect” otherwise eternity won’t be too pleasant a place for him I reckon. My second thought was “I’m glad I’m not God and have Oral’s eternal destiny in my hands” because I wouldn’t know what to do with ole Oral.

Let’s face it. Oral and his “sow a seed for a specific need” heresy has led many people to the poorhouse, and many of his friends got rich teaching this heresy but is that enough to damn him to hell? I dunno. Possibly that’s why I’m glad I’m not God.

On the flip side Oral was am amazing revival preacher. My Pops knew him back in the day and preached revivals with him. From what I’ve been told nobody preached a better “turn or burn” message like Oral Roberts. I suppose that should count for something right?

I’m reminded of the words of Peter, another guy who didn’t always make the honor roll;

Acts 2:37-39 NIV

When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?” Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit .The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off–for all whom the Lord our God will call.”

Repent and be baptized. Is that enough you think? Notice how the Holy Spirit Inspired Peter said “whom the Lord our God will call”? Guess that throws a monkey wrench in the theology of the “man has free will” crowd huh?

Did Oral profess Christ? Absolutely! Is that enough? This portion of Scripture comes to mind as well;

Mat 7:21-23 NKJV

“Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

Apparently not all who profess Christ get a free pass, at least not according to Jesus. Guess that throws a monkey wrench in the “everyone is saved they just don’t know it” club huh?

Let’s all pray Oral was one of the elect!

10 thoughts on “Oral Roberts

  1. Hey Phil,

    I’ve had the same mixed feelings about Oral. He is being credited with being the “Father” of the charismatic movement and the prosperty gospel. I don’t think I would what to go into eternity with that record. He was the first preacher that I ever heard, that was very comfortable asking people to give him money and unfortunately that is his most copied trait.

  2. Hi,

    Yea, he wasn’t shy about asking for money and you are correct that isn’t a record I’d want to stand in front of the Father with but is asking for money “damnable”?

    Phil

  3. “is asking for money damnable”? I don’t think so. It’s like drinking isn’t damnable either, however drunkenness is.

  4. Hi!

    Good point!

    He certainly twisted Scripture and tugged at folks heartstrings to get the “seed”……I’m trying to remember if he ever taught the “born again Jesus” false doctrine…..do you ever remember him teaching that?

    Phil

    • I don’t remember if he did or not. He was a very effective evanglist during his tent days, however when he went to TV his message changed from sin and redemption to fund raising. His life reminds me of Gal.1:6, sad.

  5. Hey Phil here’s a site that list some of Oral’s more outrageous prophesies, including his message from God that Jim Bakker was innocence with the same old “touch not my annointed” scam. These type of statements should be listed under “charismainia gone amuck”.

    http://www.ondoctrine.com/10robero.htm

    • Hi,

      Thanks for the link. Guess he didn’t preach the “born again Jesus” false doctrine which I believe is damnable. As you said I don’t know if I’d want to go into eternity with his record either. Heck, mine is bad enough:-)

      I think you’re right about how TV changes things and people. I think that’s true in all occupations but in ministry you should be blameless and I think being on TV and in ministry simply doesn’t mix because of the temptations and the pressures to compromise.

      Phil

  6. Hi All,

    I would like to add perhaps another dimension. Perhaps in the main this man was a false prophet and lets say ‘hypothetically’ that he was destined for eternal damnation. But like the thief on the cross, who knows, he may have repented on his death bed?

    Perhaps we can only make our own calling and our election sure!

Comments are closed.