The Ninth Commandment:You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor

I see so much 9th Commandment breaking it makes me sick. The Internet has made breaking this commandment so much easier, and it needs to stop. I’ve been guilty of it in the past and hopefully have repented of this horrible sin. For those of you who don’t know what the 9th Commandment is;

Exodus 20:16 NIV

“You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.

This seems fairly simple ands straightforward to me. IOW don’t tell lies about people right?

Theologian John Gill brilliantly expands upon this commandment and what it means;

Neither publicly in a court of judicature, by laying things to his charge that are false, and swearing to them, to his hurt and damage; nor privately, by whispering, tale bearing, backbiting, slandering, by telling lies of him, traducing his character by innuendos, sly insinuations, and evil suggestions, whereby he may suffer in his character, credit, and reputation, and in his trade and business; Aben Ezra thinks the words describe the character of the person that is not to bear witness in any court, and to be read thus, “thou shall not answer who art a false witness”: or, “O thou false witness”: meaning that such an one should not be admitted an evidence in court, who had been convicted already of being a false witness; his word and oath are not to be taken, nor should any questions be put to him, or he suffered to answer to any; his depositions should have no weight with those before whom they were made, nay, even they should not be taken, nor such a person be allowed to make any; but this is to put this precept in a quite different form from all the rest, and without any necessity, since the word may as well be taken for a testimony bore, as for the person that bears it: this is the ninth commandment.

That’s a fairly exhaustive list Mr. Gill has come up with isn’t it? You see how easy it is to break the 9th Commandment? I know I’ve been guilty of this, especially the innuendo bit as well as times when I made blanket condemnations rather then naming folks specifically. There were times when I was trying to be clever, especially in this podcast, in order to get someone to repent before exposing them and naming them publicly.

How did I break the 9th Commandment in that podcast? Well, while I was telling a true story there were people who were speculating and emailing each other back and forth, IOW whispering about who it was I might be referring to. Some ministries and their leadership were wrongly placed under a microscope and were looked on with suspicion until I finally announced who it was here.

Theologian Adam Clarke seems to concur with Mr. Gill;

Not only false oaths, to deprive a man of his life or of his right, are here prohibited, but all whispering, tale-bearing, slander, and calumny; in a word, whatever is deposed as a truth, which is false in fact, and tends to injure another in his goods, person, or character, is against the spirit and letter of this law. Suppressing the truth when known, by which a person may be defrauded of his property or his good name, or lie under injuries or disabilities which a discovery of the truth would have prevented, is also a crime against this law. He who bears a false testimony against or belies even the devil himself, comes under the curse of this law, because his testimony is false. By the term neighbor any human being is intended, whether he rank among our enemies or friends.

Would a Christian man or woman willingly and with premeditation violate the 9th Commandment? I highly doubt a born again Bible believer would willingly and maliciously bear false testimony against his or her neighbor, would they?

Yesterday I was informed that Mr. Robert Begnaud has leveled some serious accusations against me, my ministry and “my gang”. For a more thorough back-story regarding our “disagreements” please see  here, here, here ,here and here.

Accusation #1

PHIL NAESSENS HAS NEVER MET US, NEVER CALLED US, DOESN’T CARE TO UNDERSTAND US, HE HIDES BEHIND HIS BLOG AND SLANDERS US. one of HIS BIG COMPLAINTs ABOUT US? WE ARE NOT UNDER A PASTOR HE APPROVES OF! (source)

Notice what is missing? A source link and a specific instance to where I have slandered him and for the record my biggest complaint is his horrible hermeneutic, which is nothing but pre-suppositional eisegeses.

Accusation #2

WE BELIEVE THAT THIS MAN IS NOTHING MORE THAN A cowardly – PRETTY BOY-ATTACK DOG OF THE HARLOT CHURCH SYSTEM,  A PAID ASSASSIN, GOT SIX GRAND ATTEMPTING TO DESTROY US! (source)

Who paid me six grand to destroy Robert Begnaud? The simple truth is I bet my colleagues that Robert Begnaud, upon realizing he looked foolish arguing about a language he knew nothing about, would leave and then attack me publicly, which he did. In fact I will most likely upload the MP3 he did on July 3, 2009, prior to my exposing this man and his teachings publicly (source)

Accusation #3

We are also very curious as to why our web site got maliciously hacked shortly after our problem with phil ended, you wouldn’t know how, would you phil?  I guess just a coincidence! (source)

Now Mr. Begnaud is insinuating that I hacked his website. This is an attempt to harm my personal reputation and my business with a pre-meditated BALD FACED LIE and lacks any proof whatsoever that I was involved in this. For the record I had nothing to do with this cyber crime and in fact speak out against cyber crimes such as this. (source)

Accusation #4

IF YOU ASSOCIATE, LINK OR APPROVE OF PHIL NAESSENS, YOU ARE THE COMPANION OF LIARS AND THIEVES! (source)

Now he’s accusing me of being a liar and a thief. Notice what’s missing in this accusation? Proof, that’s  what. What have I stolen? Where have I lied? Just more innuendo from a man with a axe to grind and nursing a church hurt.

These are four clear examples of Mr. Begnaud’s willing and pre-meditated campaign to destroy my reputation both personally and professionally. Spreading falsehoods and innuendo without even a SHRED of proof whatsoever makes him and his libelous hate campaign against me demonstrates a crystal clear picture of violating the 9th Commandment.

Would a Christian behave this way?

Please, be careful what you say about others. Its easy to break the 9th Commandment and damage innocent peoples reputations even if, unlike Mr. Begnaud, you didn’t mean any harm.

You can comment on this article here

