Introducing The “Militant Evangelist”

Thanks to the Internet, evangelism has never been easier. People of all faiths are now using the Internet to share their personal beliefs and to proselytize the masses with their various messages. Naturally, there are those who don’t share in the author’s beliefs and attempt to correct error with the aim of converting the errant author. While most speak their peace and leave it at that there are some who don’t take no for an answer or don’t handle disagreement very well.

Today I’ll introduce you to what I call “Militant Evangelist”……

Ask yourself the following questions;

Ever continually disagree with everything someone believes on a daily basis and keep coming harder and harder when it’s obvious your views aren’t being received?

Ever been banned from a website only to return time and again to harass your opponent using different IP Numbers?

Ever set up an anonymous website set to tarnish a person’s reputation because of a theological disagreement?

Ever send a nasty email to someone questioning their integrity and qualifications because their way of dealing with a specific situation differs from your own?

Ever repeatedly email a theological opponent after being asked not to email them again?

If you can answer yes to any of the above you might be considered a “militant evangelist”.

Jesus had something to say about evangelism. Let’s see if it differs from the “militant evangelists” idea of evangelism.

Matthew 10:14-11 NIV

“Whatever town or village you enter, search for some worthy person there and stay at his house until you leave. As you enter the home, give it your greeting. If the home is deserving, let your peace rest on it; if it is not, let your peace return to you. If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town.

You notice what Christ didn’t say right? He didn’t say to return to the home that didn’t welcome your words each and every day and harass them did He? He said to simply leave. Seems fairly simple right?

The interesting part is the usual “militant evangelist” claims to be a “Christian”. The sad part is the people who believe the “militant evangelist” is a Christian. What is even worse are the non Christians who judge Christians based on the “militant evangelists” who can’t, won’t or simply refuse to follow the clear teachings of Christ.

It’s easy to become a target of the “militant evangelists” style of evangelism. Usually disagreeing with them is all that it takes. Objecting to their disagreements publicly can and usually does drive them absolutely wild and in most cases you will feel their wrath through spamming, IP Proxy and via anonymous “non reply” emails that will never end unless they become bored and move on or give up.

Again, these folks claim to be Christians yet their actions are more akin to this. Hardly Christian behavior now is it.

Any thoughts?

29 thoughts on “Introducing The “Militant Evangelist”

  1. Great Phil , but a bit of a lie

    We do follow this method, we do not return to a home to press the issue or harass, unless of course you are speaking of the internet.

    The difference is that there are many different readers of public posts. While the posts may be on the same site, there are different readers receiving the message.

    And actually, the qualifications above fit certain emergents more than me. They are militant in their anti-evangelism and bringing liberalism into the church.

    • Hi John,

      What are you talking about? Did you think I was referring to you in this posting?

      Dude, please read the post again, especially this bit

      Ask yourself the following questions;

      Ever continually disagree with everything someone believes on a daily basis and keep coming harder and harder when it’s obvious your views aren’t being received?

      Ever been banned from a website only to return time and again to harass your opponent using different IP Numbers?

      Ever set up an anonymous website set to tarnish a person’s reputation because of a theological disagreement?

      Ever send a nasty email to someone questioning their integrity and qualifications because their way of dealing with a specific situation differs from your own?

      Ever repeatedly email a theological opponent after being asked not to email them again?

      If you can answer yes to any of the above you might be considered a “militant evangelist”.

      Phil

      PS: Where did I lie John?

      • It’s called hidden conviction. Folk carry baggage and all it takes is one person to say, “The sun is bright today, eh?”

        All hell breaks loose around some dude who is carrying Beverly Hillbillies luggage unbeknown to you. Dude freaks, gets in your face and starts talking about how Jesus left him years ago.

        Then he realizes, “Oh, you were talking about S-U-N, not S-O-N.”

        I still think the post was nice. Keep it up brother.

        Peace.

      • You notice what Christ didn’t say right? He didn’t say to return to the home that didn’t welcome your words each and every day and harass them did He? He said to simply leave. Seems fairly simple right?

        You lied here, at the very least you made an inuendo that this is what we do. The fact is, as I said, the internet is not your home, your web page is viewed by many different people, and the evangelist is attempting to reach those people. You insinuate that the internet or militant evangelist harasses, returns to the ‘home’ (talk about reading comprehension, or is it a lack of hermeneutics??) etc.

        Again, Phil, you may spend a lot of time there, but the internet is not your ‘home’.

        • Hi John,

          The post wasn’t about you or what you do door to door John. Its about how some within the Internet world conduct themselves at other peoples sites.

          John, I had specific people in mind when I wrote this and ODM’s weren’t one of them……the fact that you continue to call me a liar demonstrates what I wrote in my follow-post.

          O, BTW, I PAY for this site and it belongs to me and I CHOOSE who evangelizes here on this particular site. If the “evangelist” wants to push his theology he can go right ahead, but it had BETTER line up with mine or he/she/it can do it somewhere else because at the end of the day I’m responsible……….capice?

          Phil

        • Hi John,

          How do you know Rob Bell isn’t a “Bible Believing Christian” or that he isn’t “Born Again”? Just because your interpretation of the bible differs doesn’t mean Bell isn’t Bible believing nor does that mean he isn’t “born again”.

          Be careful John, you are dangerously close to saying who is and isn’t saved. Take it from me that isn’t a good thing. Been there done that and have the t-shirts to prove it.

          Phil

        • I don’t know who is a Born-again, Bible believing, God-honoring Christian except by words and actions.

          Rob Bell, in my estimation, according to words written, sermons preached is not a born-again bible-believing Christian. He may honor God, but I am unsure which he has built a ‘sail’ for.

          Also, Phil, by your words and actions towards me I wonder also for you, my friend. Perhaps you feel offended by me in some way. I am sorry if by my words, which I tried to explain, I offended you in some way. I will not try to explain again, because obviously I have caused deep hurt. Please forgive me. I won’t come to your ‘home’ again, unless invited.

        • Hi John,

          You make me sad because you just don’t get it……..actually John you didn’t explain anything to me but you sure were fast to accuse me of lying……not once………..not twice………but THREE times and now you question my salvation…….

          Deep hurt? You? Don’t give yourself that much credit my friend………..I just don’t like being called a “liar” by anyone, especially when I didn’t………..but then when push comes to shove shooting first and asking questions later is the norm for you isn’t it now pastorboy…….

          Thanks for sharing,

          Phil

        • Stop lying if you don’t want to be called one… that simple enough is not it ?

          Phil This is the same person my friends. I’ve asked him politely to not post here again and he won’t stop………this is a “Christian”? This is a person I’m going to listen to?

        • OH !

          Phil : This is the same person my friends. I’ve asked him politely to not post here again and he won’t stop………this is a “Christian”? This is a person I’m going to listen to?

          What about this you hypocrite ?

          Why should i stop posting in your blog just because you asked me not to when you won’t remove other people’s names when they politely request you to do so ?

          Phil: You’re delusional. You enjoy calling me names don’t you? Now, if I remember correctly you denounced me for doing the same…….I think the hypocrite here is YOU sweety pie…………

          That’s all for you here………now go do the Biblical thing when someone refuses to hear your “rebuke” (over 500 of them BTW) and gather those witnesses and come to me like a man for once……..you know my email addy I’m sure……….

          One last thing. Thank you for proving my point my anonymous friend…..now run along and post away……..

          Phil

          PS: How did that baptism thing work out? Sprinkled or immersed? In a river or in a tub? You do realize that baptism doesn’t regenerate folks and my little friend your comments and actions CLEARLY describe where you are at…….

  2. […] The “Militan…hiscrivener on Introducing The “Militan…pastorboy on Introducing The “Militan…Phil Naessens on Of First ImportancePhil Naessens on Of First Importanceboydmiller on Of […]

  3. Yes.. you are indeed a liar whether you like it or not. You see Philly, I’m not the only one who calls you a liar.

    And. when someone calls you a liar and another bears witness you should start taking the time to look inside yourself instead of pointing your little fingers all over. You should accept that you are a liar, confess and repent Mr.

    Not a particular good life when people enter your ‘home’ and start calling you a liar .. huh ? I wonder if the Pharisees felt the same way when Jesus entered their home/world and called them all sorts of names to their arrogant faces. I think they did… judging by your anger and actions at John. You are one of a kind.. YOU & THEM PHARISEES !!

    Now don’t publish this my arrogant friend.. its too humiliating for you… the coward who never stops lying and speaking ill about lil ‘ole me but never have the guts to let his readers see what his ‘anonymous little Indian friend ‘ says to him… except squeal about harassment … LOL

    • Hi Donald,

      You missed me huh?

      This is the “person” I was writing about Pastorboy………

      “Never stops lying”? Thats rich coming from a “boy” that has used over 23 tag names (some in the same thread), IP Proxy to disguise his/her/its identity, attempted to impersonate me repeatedly as well as a host of other things……….

      How did I lie in this post or anywhere else “Donald”?

      How did I lie “Pastorboy”?

      Show me????

      Phil

        • Hi Donald,

          I emptied the contents of your comment to demonstrate to you EXACTLY what happens each and every time you take your little potshots at me…….NOTHING!

          So you see, you are wasting your time “rebuking” me……

          And BTW, just because John Chisham calls me a liar doesn’t make it so nor does it fit the biblical mandates for confronting sin…..you did not “take” your case against me to Chisham you merely agreed with him…..

          So here’s what you’ll need to do, since I won’t receive ANYTHING you say; Go to anyone on my blogroll and plead your case to them, if you really desire for me to repent of what you claim is my sin that is. They’ll come to me and I’ll tell them all about YOU and your conduct towards me on this site and then we’ll see just who’s telling the truth.

          Of course you won’t do any such thing will you? You just prefer to call me names and expect me to take it. Those days are over my little cowardly Indian buddy.

          Either take the next biblical step or please leave me alone.

          Thank You,

          Phil

  4. BTW. . strangely I sort of like this nick name .. hihihihi

    militant evangelist !! lolzzzzzzzzzz…..

    .

  5. Hahaha..

    I knew you wouldn’t dare publish it. Making a challenge and then chickening out is the norm for you isn’t it now Philly boy .
    Exposing how you lied was fun…. LIAR.

    Nothing’s over till I say its over dude… I mean LIAR .. hihihi

    You see I don’t really care anymore I you delete or empty my comments… as long as you receive em.. capice ?
    Infact when you delete them its an ego booster ’cause it means you don’t like what I wrote and have no answer to it + you are afraid to let your readers see what I said to you.

    Of course you can lie to your teeth about what i wrote or did but again that’s ok because then i know I am right in rebuking and harassing you as you like to put it.. After all that’s all you are… a hypocrital liar who likes to pretend on the internet that he’s someone BIG but nothing but a cowardly liar in truth…. HAHAHAHA.. Is it because you failed to become a famous televangelist that you are so jealous of those who are successful ? why don’t you admit that to yourself ! ?

    Why not publish this one so that my conduct towards you on this site can be seen by all without you needing to lie some more ? You must be very tired with all the lying.. so here’s a chance to get some rest from LYING.

  6. LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIARLIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR Phil Naessens LIAR

  7. One more thing Philly boy..

    Since you have falsely accused me of impersonating you, give me one good reason why I shouldn’t indeed impersonate you and visit every christian blog lying and accusing innocent people.. after all that’s what you do naturally isn’t it ? I would just be helping you out.. right ?

    That should keep you pretty busy tracing where I post in your name lying and accusing people an explaining yourself.

    But I’ll be fair to you:

    I promise not to do such a thing if you give me one good reason why I shouldn’t do it.. or you can withdraw your false accusation publicly.

Comments are closed.