Religions of the Stars by Richard Abanes

stars_sm

Bethany House Publishers recently sent me Richard Abanes new book Religions of the Stars and I’d like to share with each of you my thoughts regarding this book.

Richard Abanes is a Christian Apologist and that fact comes shining through time and time again in this 183 page book designed to teach you the difference between what your favorite “star” believes and what the Bible actually teaches. At the end of each chapter are tips on how you can witness to those caught in the New Age Movement, Mormonism, Buddhism, Scientology, Kabbalah and Magick.

There are plenty of interesting facts on how the spiritual beliefs of those in the entertainment business come through in what we see on the large or small screen. As a fan of the 70’s TV show Battlestar Galactica I had no idea this whole series was based on Mormonism (p61).

If you are interested in tabloid gossip or the latest dirt on your favorite star this book isn’t for you. If you are interested in an easily readable and highly educational Apologetics book then I strongly suggest you go out and get Religions of the Stars by Richard Abanes.

20 thoughts on “Religions of the Stars by Richard Abanes

  1. It’s amazing how on one hand someone can be an apologist for the likes of Rick Warren and Leonard Sweet, and then on the other hand get what’s wrong with Hollywood spiritually but not see the very same things written on the wall before Rick Warren and Leonard Sweet.

    Is anyone else curious about this besides me?
    Well I know LightHouse Trails Research knows, Warren Smith knows but it seems so many people are blinded to Mr. Abanes’ lack of truth when it comes to the new age authors like Rick Warren, Paul Young, Leonard Sweet and others that went before them.

    Any comments?

    Brad

    • Hi,

      Have you read the book yet Brad?

      Rick Warren isn’t a “new age” writer Brad…….

      Lighthouse Trials is a joke…..like a tabloid…….the quality of their “work” isn’t worthy to cover the floor of a birdcage…….

      Go read the book Brad……….

      Phil

  2. Hello All,

    This posting is not about Rick Warren so if you want to talk about Rick Warren please do so somewhere else………….

    Please do your research regarding this site before submitting “ministries” you claim do “research” such as “Lighthouse Trails, Apprising Ministries and Slice of Laodicea……usually when somone submits their links the comment gets deleted……again please do your research about this site as to why I delete your comments.

    Again……..this posting has nothing to do with Rick Warren and even the mentioning of his name will get your comment deleted……

    Thanks,

    Phil

  3. Wow,

    I don’t expect a comment from this nor do I expect to see this put in your blog because you’ve already shown your colors, however I feel the desire to respond to your actions and comments.

    First of all, it’s nice to know there are loving, bible following “Christians” in the blogging world. (OK I’m ripping my tongue out of my cheek now as I turn it.)

    Second of all which should be first but I digress.
    I originally made a comment in regards to Richard Abanes’ book. ( I was assuming that was the topic at heart since you were so proudly displaying your review of our bright and shining star and his book).
    I commented on how odd it seemed that he could write about the belief system of Hollywood which is at its heart pantheism and panentheism, all roads lead to god, we are gods, god is in everything and everything is part of god, blah blah blah. It doesn’t matter if it’s Star Wars and the force or Madonna and kabala, or Tom Cruise or John Travolta and Scientology it’s all the same thing. Yet with that having been said, I asked your opinion on doesn’t it seem strange that Mr Abanes feels it important to comment on these types of people, yet still defends others (You know who I’m talking about), that talk the talk, but don’t walk the walk, and constantly align themselves with those who speak from the darkness and deceive Christians.

    You immediately jumped on you know who’s bandwagon and made an immediate comment about you know who, that you know who wasn’t a new age author when that wasn’t the comment or question.
    At that point you also mentioned in an extremely unprofessional manner (you claim to be an author and a reviewer so therefore you are called to maintain a professional demeanor, not to mention to respond in love) LHTR. Your comments are derogatory, defamatory and If they weren’t the forgiving, loving organization that they are, they would have every right to sue you for your inflammatory libel.
    I find it humerous that every time I mention you know who, people that are on the side of you know who, ignorantly assume that I make my comments based on something that LHTR said or wrote about You know who. The funny thing is that I do my research, I read my opponents, I make my comments based on intelligent research and logical thinking. I’ve been to LHTR a total of two times in the last 2.5 years.
    I don’t need anyone to tell me what I can read with my own eyes or hear with my own ears.

    The mistake you made was in standing up for you know who and making a comment without all your facts and you spoke from passion not from reason. The other mistake you made was insulting friends of my wife, (not a very smart thing to do).

    Now you can chose to do whatever you want to do, because this is indeed your sandbox, and if you don’t want to be nice and play fair with others that’s up to you, but the truth is the truth and the facts are the facts.

    And I might add, the known niceties of blogging on the internet are, if you make comments about a person or organization, you better expect that people are going to respond. If you are going to remove comments simply because you don’t like someone talking back to you, I would consider that both childish and unprofessional.

    I would like, either here or someone else to have you stand behind your inflammatory and extremely untruthful comments about LHTR and tell me why you feel the way you do about them and why you automatically assumed my comments and questions were based on anything that LHTR may have said? or did you just assume?

    You most likely won’t but I would hope that you are unique and original and you do find a place somewhere on your blog where you post this and also post your response. I have not in any way insulted you, or belittled you despite your insulting a very respected organization. So I would call upon you as a self proclaimed man of God to stand up and respond intelligently to my comments rather than just saying, this is my sandbox and you play by my rules or i’ll kick you out.

    • Hi,

      You and “Teresa” have the same IP numbers………and I can see your hatred for all things Rick Warren showing through. That’s the bitter fruit of LHTR Brad…….I’m sure the Dombrowski’s would be proud of you both!!!

      LHTR is a joke……that’s my opinion Brad. Sue me for libel? I’m fairly certain there are many who could do that to LHTR as well……..but they follow the Bible 1Corinthians 6 and rather be offended……..it has nothing to do with “nice” or being “loving” Brad. Its about being Biblical……..

      I think its interesting how you criticize my moderating when the VERY “ministry” (and 2 that teresa tried to slip in) don’t even ALLOW comments because if they did they would demonstrate to everyone how weak their “research” really is.

      Please stop hating people Brad and Teresa…….

      Phil

      PS: I won’t be responding to your lengthy email Brad……..

  4. Phil, your either a tare who is in support of this reimagining of our faith, which like this book is something in competition to our faith, but is faulty. Or you are pridefull and ignorant by choice and too lazy to check these things out that many ministries and christians are concerned about holding to account for changing our faith. That is terrible. Thanks for acting like a dictator as well.

    • Hi,

      This seems awful personal Teresa……..what cracks me up or better yet astonishes me is how you can judge me as a tare because I don’t agree with you.

      Did you know that I teach a class called Western Religions at a Seminary in Greece? Do you know that PDL is one of the books that is required reading? Do you know what I refer to it as to my students? Here’s a hint; on day one of my class I write on the board; American “Christianity” is BS (I like Rick Warren though I just don’t like PDL that much)………….thanks for demonstrating this for me. BTW for my stance on PDL you might want to read the following link;

      https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2008/09/23/rick-warren-false-teacher-or-heretic/

      Did you know Ray Comfort speaks at Word of Faith conferences? The WoF has occultic origins. By your standards you are recommending an author that by his appearances seem to endorse the WoF movement……..that makes you a hypocrite Teresa.

      https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2008/07/28/my-take-on-the-ray-comfort-situation/

      BTW: One of those “ministries” you tried to endorse I know for a FACT is a plagiarist…….you really need to do better research Teresa……..

      Phil

      • RAY SPOKE A ONE OR TWO OF THE CONVERENCES TO SHARE THE TRUE GOSPEL BECAUSE THAT IS PROBABLY one of the few times they will have the opportunity to do so, when they have so much errror to keep theri minds in. Ray is a good guy, with beautiful intentions and I think it is silly that you would try to soil his name. You will not ever find him uttering any of this word of faith stuff. He talks about 10 commandments and repenting and has spent his christian life teaching people who would otherwise go to hell. Though some may be upset for his choice, I see the side of Ray on this and frankly, it makes sense. However, if Ray started talking this mystical garbage of occultic origin’s , they yeah, it would be a good thing to call him out on it. Untill then, I am going to look at the fruit of his ministry, his words and works, There are too many other “christians” out there who are saying one thing out of one side of their mouths, and then something else. That is not good. Consistency needs to be used by servants of the Lord in teaching what the bible says.

        • Hi,

          Ray Comfort didn’t warn the sheep they were about to be fleeced Teresa………Ray “claims” he didn’t know what the folks mentioned were teaching which is pure hogwash as his ministry has denounced these WoF wolves. I wonder what the outcry would be had Rick Warren said and done the same thing…….

          Make all the excuses you like but you are doing what the ODM’s do…….you have one standard for the ones you like and another for everyone else……that’s why I call some of the ODM’s (which include some of the ones you’ve mentioned) as modern day Pharisees………

          So sad Teresa……..

          Phil

    • Teresa,

      Did you just question my salvation because I liked and recommend Richard’s book? Hey, you are certainly learning a TON from folks like Ken and Ingrid…..they play the guilt by association game as well…

      You make me sad Teresa………..

      Phil

      • There is guilt by association and then there is guilt by promotion. People try to excuse of “leaders” when they bring questionable heretics on board with them and then use the old, You can’t accuse me of guilt by association line. Never mind the fact that they are PROMOTING those heretics. Big difference.

        I didn’t question your salvation having anything to do with RA’s book. I was referring to LS QS book, but since you edit everything I write, it would see you are trying to play games with my words, which is silly. Let my words stand. What are you trying to hide?

        You make me sad that you won’t go after these turn coats the same way you will MRS White. What sense does that make?

        • Hi,

          I haven’t edited your comments Teresa……that’s a false accusation….more bitter fruit from the ODM crowd……

          Me hide? What’s your name “teresa”? Where do you live? Work? Google my name and you can find that and sooooooooo much more……I google “teresa” and I get a whole lot of nothing……..kinda like your comments……..at least you are consistent.

          Which “turncoats” don’t I go after? Oh wait…….you mean Rick Warren right? Tell you what Teresa…….you demonstrate to me with your own words where Rick Warren is doctrinally off in regards to the essential truths of Christianity and I’ll call him a heretic……….ok? Until then please stop talking about “boards” and “prayers” and stick with where Rick Warren is off doctrinally………..

          Geesh……..

          Phil

  5. Oh by the way, this book is not new in its concept, as Ray Comfort also did one just like it, but corrects the error of the false religions. It can be googled. Best book I ever read.

  6. BRAD: I commented on how odd it seemed that he could write about the belief system of Hollywood which is at its heart pantheism and panentheism, all roads lead to god, we are gods, god is in everything and everything is part of god, blah blah blah. It doesn’t matter if it’s Star Wars and the force or Madonna and kabala, or Tom Cruise or John Travolta and Scientology it’s all the same thing.

    RESPONSE: It is not all the same thing. That is where you apparently do not understand what any of these religions actually teach. This seems to be one of the main problem with ODMs (like LTR and others): 1. a total lack of discernment when it comes to the issues; and 2. a complete misunderstanding of the actual beliefs of people — non-Christians and Christians alike. For example, Buddhism doesn’t even have a “god” at all. Scientology teaches that we are all space aliens called “Thetans” and god is undefined. And Mormons are polytheists. In other words, there is no pantheism or panentheism here in these faiths, contrary to your assertion.
    ________________
    BRAD: ….. doesn’t it seem strange that Mr Abanes feels it important to comment on these types of people, yet still defends others (You know who I’m talking about), that talk the talk, but don’t walk the walk, and constantly align themselves with those who speak from the darkness and deceive Christians.

    RESPONSE: It’s not strange at all since those whom you keep attacking (me included), and what they believe, have nothing to do with the religions of the stars that discuss in the book — which, btw, completely upholds orthodox Christianity. Does that even make sense? Does it make sense that my whole life would be devoted to defending the faith, and then I’d go to a church with a pastor who is a pantheist???? Think!!! This is yet another problem with the ODMs and their followers. Everything and everyone gets thrown into one big, boiling heretic pot. If anyone doesn’t think, speak, act, or see things (all things) exactly like they do when it comes to every single issue — SPLASH! — they get thrown into the pot. That’s not apologetics. That’s not discernment. It’s witch hunting.

    BRAD: I do my research, I read my opponents, I make my comments based on intelligent research and logical thinking.

    RA: Clearly not. Reading what someone says, then spinning it to make sure it sounds heretical is not research, let alone intelligent research. The #1 rule of apologetics is read things IN CONTEXT — that’s a good start. Don’t make presumptions and hunt & peck for words/comments that seem to prove some preconceived notion. Rule #2 is consider a person’s overall theological paradigm when analyzing anything they say. Rule #3 is examining all statements relating to a given issue, not just isolated comments that you can bend/twist/shape to support your own agenda to show someone as heretical. Those are three good rules that, given your previous comments, I can tell you’ve already broken.

    peace and best wishes,

    RA
    P.S. Don’t blog angry… 🙂

  7. P.S to Brad,

    What is it with all the “YOU KNOW WHO” references? It sounds like you’re referring to Lord Voldemort in Harry Potter! In fact, that’s actually a quote from Harry Potter, as WIKI tells us “[Voldemort] is so feared that almost no one uses his real name, instead referring to him as “You-Know-Who” …..”

    Oh my, oh dear, oh noes…….it seems to me you are deliberately quoting from an occult-related book, which in turn must mean that you yourself have embraced magick and/or witchcraft (at the very least you seem to be endorsing Harry Potter). I am going to assume that you are also now a pantheist or panentheist with New Age and Emergent sympathies!!

    I shall notify LTR immediately of your move toward the dark side.

    RA

  8. Do a book review on Quantum Spirituality.
    Do a book review on A Wonderful Deception.
    Do a book review on anything by B Manning.
    Do a book Review on anything by Thomas Merton and then see what “Christian’ leaders recommend him to their audiences.

    Phil: Have the publisher send these books to me and I’ll review them otherwise I have zero interest in reading them…..

    I wasn’t talking about RA book, I was talking about LS. You edit the posts I write which is unfair, so yeah, you end up twisting my words. If it did appear I was saying something about RA’s book, I want to make it clear, no, I don’t have a problem with his book. Interesting topic, been done before, but I am wondering why there isn’t a consistent approach to questioning the mystical new breed of “Christians” and one world supporters who link up w/ Tony Blair and those religions worldviews. And the fact that you don’t either, yes. calls into question why? Tare, immature, prideful or a supportive mystical hybrid who wants the same goals as this Warren, Sweet, Blair etc, and talks out of both sides of his mouth. Considering the bible warned of an apostate church and the end times as they would unfold, I would think authentic wheat would be as concerned and vocal as many of us are regarding this very undermining of our faith. So, why aren’t you? The bible does teach that there will be tares and wheat…a true bride and a harlot. Is any of this starting to make sense to you yet? Or you do you reject end times theology for some reason? Help me understand your position, Phil. Why would these two men of God, RA and you, not do a book review of the afore mentioned, while knowing the ties that bind them to MR Warren? Why is that? I think I know why, but please, enlighten me.

    Phil: You made another false accusation Teresa…….I’ve never edited your words and I wouldn’t need to as you hang yourself quite nicely on your own…..like I responded in a previous post please demonstrate with your own words where Warren is off doctrinally on the essentials of Christianity. As far as the rest have the publisher contact me and I’ll do a review…

    This step could have never happened until the world became so biblically illiterate, but there are many of us that do read the bible and are aware. So, I think it is entirely reasonable to assume that if there are others who say they are wheat, yet refuse to be consistent in their testing of materials and act as if they are covering up, then what is a girl to do? Kind of odd, wouldn’t you say?

    Phil: I’m not covering up anything or for anyone and by the looks of your comments and ministries where you get your “discernment” from I somehow doubt your biblical literacy…..

    And by the way, before you bash American Christianity, I wouldn’t be talking smack about God’s beloved bride. There are many tares to confuse people, sure, but there is that same band of true ones who will not bow to Baal or God is in all things, or unity in diversity, or, or , or…That is a fact. We have done a lot for the world, more than most…and that needs to be acknowledged of you are just lying. Sorry, but that is the truth. And I don’t hate anyone, I think a lot is being done to undermine our core truth so another one can come and replace it. I don’t care what the specific religions for the moment teach in their differences, the whole unity in diversity will allow people to practice their own little nitch, while also holding to this all paths led to God, pantheism stuff. I guess they just have to be comfortable with the contradiction, but the end is that Christianity that is solid and true will not be changed to what is being implemented slowly but surely, and to stem the tide people need to listen up.

    Phil: I’m an American citizen born in the USA Teresa…..I only live in Greece and and you must have missed the ” ” around Christianity……I think your research is shaky at best which is probably why you find Ken and Ingrid so appealing……birds of a feather flocking together is the way it looks to me…………unlike you I take my time and assess a situation before I make judgments and your judgment of me is ridiculous…….

    This blog is an outreach to my community and the majority of my community has never heard of Rick Warren or Leonard Sweet so why should I care all that much about them? If you are so concerned about them why don’t YOU buy the books and do the reviews and publish them on your own site and then deal with the ridiculous rantings of biblically illiterate people such as yourself on a daily basis?

    See you around and thanks for the perfect example of why I say American “Christianity” is BS…………

    • TERESA: Why would these two men of God, RA and you, not do a book review of the aforementioned, while knowing the ties that bind them to MR Warren? Why is that? I think I know why, but please, enlighten me.

      No, with all due respect, you don’t know why.

      Did you ever think that perhaps I’m not called by God to write a review or criticize the various books you noted and/or don’t like? Did you ever consider that I simply disagree with you on a number of levels based on my own research and ways of thinking as a Christian? Is that permissible to you? Or are you actually telling me that if I don’t do, say, write, discuss what YOU think I should be doing, saying, writing, and discussing, then that means I have somehow compromised my walk, or that I’m talking out of both sides of my mouth, or that I’m part of some end-times scheme of Satan? Hmm, interesting.

      Did you ever read Romans 14:4, 7-8: “Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand. . . . For none of us lives to himself alone and none of us dies to himself alone. If we live, we live to the Lord; and if we die, we die to the Lord. So, whether we live or die, we belong to the Lord.”

      How about 1 Corinthians 12:14-23: “Now the body is not made up of one part but of many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” it would not for that reason cease to be part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would the sense of hearing be? If the whole body were an ear, where would the sense of smell be? But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be. If they were all one part, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, but one body. The eye cannot say to the hand, “I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and the parts that we think are less honorable we treat with special honor.”

      In other words, we all have our place in the body. We all have different ministries, callings, responsibilities, jobs, duties, passions for service, things to do, aspects of ministry on which to concentrate. But you seem to think that someone like me MUST be doing what you personally think I should be doing in order to be consistent or in order to be obedient to God. You are mistaken.

      Even if I agreed with all of your views on various people, that STILL would not mean I would have any responsibility to write a book or articles about them. I would ONLY have a responsibility to write about what I felt God wanted me to write about. The fact is, if you look at my work, I’ve analyzed and critiqued dozens and dozens and dozens of false religions, false teachers, and false beliefs — yet I am now an enemy, so to speak, because I have not critiqued various people/books YOU think I should have critiqued. Unbelievable. We might as well just forget about the Holy Spirit and following God’s leading in ministry.

      RA

  9. Teresa,

    Since you’ve brought up boards, lets talk about the board of one of the folks you wanted me to get my information from, Apprising Ministries.

    Jim Lapuchino is a board member who boldly claims on his site to be “Monitoring spiritual deception and world events from a Biblical perspective”. Great……Fine!! Only one problem with this; Jim has on his blogroll a “discernment” ministry named Spiritual Pathways Ministries which used MASSIVE SPIRITUAL DECEPTION…………..never heard a peep publicly about this from either of them…..guess its ok to deceive if you’re on the “home team” eh Teresa.

    Below is Jim’s site;

    http://watcherslamp.blogspot.com/

    Here is a link describing the SPM deception;

    https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2009/05/25/dave-norris-and-his-imaginary-watchmen/

    Hmmmm…….and I even informed both Jim and Ken of this. If I were you I’d pay a little closer attention to where you are getting your “discernment” from………..

    Phil

  10. Phil I like you and Richard Abanes personally but there is one thing about you and him that drives me up the wall.

    What would that be you might well ask?

    Subterfuge and bringing up a load of garbage and seeing if you throw enough crap against the wall maybe it will stick and you will distract from the truth.

    I promised myself that I wasn’t going to take up any more of your bandwidth, but I can only take just so much intentional blindness and ignorance.

    Yes there are a few fringe lunatics out there in the online discernment ministry movement, but does that mean they are all lunatic freaks?

    Phil: I never said they all were or are….just the ones your wife tried to push on me…….

    There are quite a few lunatic authors out there as well does that mean you and Richard Abanes are insane and off the wall? (Well I’ll reserve judgement on that one for now) 🙂

    You and Richard are both guilty of the same thing, you both whine about people judging others “guilt by association” blah blah blah and yet you both turn around and do the same thing as you are doing with ODM’s.

    In fact Richard Abanes whined obnoxiously on several of his blogs over a period of 2 years about the incident with Ken Silva and yet in 2004 He published a book called End Times Visions: The Road to Armageddon? Where he incorectly and in my opinion sinfully misrepresented facts and twisted words and took things out of context without even coming to the people he wrote about first and asking them their side of the story. That is extremely poor judgement and journalism in my opinion.
    Yet he felt free to whine and threaten Ken Silva who made one mistake in judgement. In this one book Richard makes numerous mistakes either through not caring or through a very serious lack of judgement, neither being a good thing in what is considered to be a “widely known expert of the cult and occult?” Now Dave Hunt who has been in the business of exposing the cults and occults longer than Richard Abanes has been alive would be someone I would consider an expert.

    Phil: Who claimed Richard was an “expert”? I said he was and is an excellent apologist and the book in the review proves it.

    Both of you set yourselves up in your ivory towers and feel free to sling arrows at those who disagree with you, whether you have evidence or not.

    My wife has asked you in at least 3 different blog comments and 1 email to justify what you have as evidence against LHTR. What do you do? You insult her, you insult LHTR and you come up with evidence about some lunatic ODM who has obviously stopped taking his meds. While you were in Greece did you take Liberal Journalism 101?

    Phil: Your wife tried to promote that “lunatic” and I clearly demonstrated to her why I don’t trust that “lunatic”

    And by the way, just because you were a teacher in Greece doesn’t really impress me.
    Paul himself who sat before Gamaliel the most revered of all Jewish Rabbinical teachers of Old and New Testament, stated that it is not I but Christ crucified. He admitted freely that he made mistakes and that he was not perfect. Do you expect us to bown down to you and kiss your feet simply because you were a teacher in Greece? I have numerous friends from several Bible Colleges who are teachers as well. I would stand any one of them up against you any day of the week.
    I’m certainly not impressed with your comments about American Christianity. This nation was founded on Christian principals and is the last bastion of fundamental Christianity where people have not entirely wiped out the gospel and need for Jesus Blood although there is a movement afoot where they are trying awefully hard. Is that why American Christianity is BS? Do you ever explain your opinion to your students about your brash insulting comment on the board or do you just leave it open to interpretation?

    Phil: Were? Do you know something I don’t Brad? I still am a teacher Brad……..sure I tell them why I say it the way I say it and quite frankly statements like “this nation was founded on Christian principals” is a good example for them…….last bastion? You are kidding right?

    This whole pile of cow patties you’ve sent my wife stems from the fact that I asked a question about Richard’s book which you have posted an opinion on and asked about how Richard can go out and put a negative light on hollywood’s religions and yet still stand up for others whom he has chosen to befriend, which was a valid question. You then, despite the fact that i never even mentioned LHTR belittled and insulted and slandered them. I am quite proud of the fact that my wife stood up for them.

    Phil: Brad, you did mention LTR;

    https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2009/07/10/religions-of-the-stars-by-richard-abanes/#comment-10404

    In fact Phil and Richard – if anyone dared say you weren’t worth putting in the bottom of a bird cage, I would go off on them as well because that was an extremely tacky, arrogant, childish thing to say, especially when you claim to be a professional and you are making such statements on your blog site.

    And you are guilty of the same nonsense you accuse these other people of and now simply because she disagrees with you, you tell my wife she is ranting and biblically illiterate? My wife has only been a Christian for 14 years but her bibles are all well marked. She has read through the bible on numerous occasions and I would stand her knowledge of the word up to your lofty, arrogant, puffy self any day of the week.

    For someone who is supposedly a Christian author and professional writer you sure do go out of your way to sling insults and epilogues of hatred. Why is it when people stand against you, that you go ballistic and hostile? Are you that arrogant and childish? I am Phil and I’m the king of this mountain and if you don’t play in my sandbox in my rules I will sling insults and a plethora of crap your way.

    Phil: Huh?

    Phil wake up, Millions are dying and going to hell, if you’re not concerned about these things, which you have admitted you are not, you are guilty with aiding and abetting the enemy. Guess what Bubba, that makes you as bad as the enemy.

    Phil: You my friend need to get help with your reading comprehension “bubba”………geesh

    Not once have my wife or myself been rude or condescending to you or Richard, however you have felt free to pretty much sling a load of crap against her and insult her. You might want to reconsider what you say about men’s wives because the next guy whose wife you insult in the way you have mine, might not be as self controlled as I am.

    Neither my wife nor I are doing what we are doing for fame or building up our egos, we are doing it so that the darkness will not grow any faster than we can avoid and so people are aware of the truth.

    Again Phil, I would point you to the verse at the top of your very own blog:
    Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them Ephesians 5:11
    Do you pick and chose which parts of the darkness you are going to expose and which parts of the darkness you’ll openly embrace and take part of?

    If you are a part of European Christianity and your behavior is what European Christianity is like, were I a teacher, in the corner of my board I would write “European Christianity is in the darkness, pray for them!!”

    Phil: Thanks for setting me straight there Bubba………it has certainly been interesting………

    • BRAD: Subterfuge and bringing up a load of garbage and seeing if you throw enough crap against the wall maybe it will stick and you will distract from the truth.

      RESPONSE: Another accusation, no substance.

      Brad, I have responded with direct answers/comments to your remarks. And have added extra bits of information for you to think about coupled with scripture references that give substance to my answers. You call that “crap”? I consider Romans 14:4, 7-8 and 1 Corinthians 12:14-23 to be God’s holy, inerrant, Word to humanity.

      And, btw, exactly what “truth” am I supposedly seeking to distract everyone from? Feel free to actually spell it out since this is a rather serious accusation. You are essentially calling me a deceiver — i.e., someone who is DELIBERATELY seeking to conceal a truth and/or uphold an error. What are the doctrinal truths I am seeking to conceal? What are the doctrinal errors I am seeking to conceal?

      _________________
      BRAD: Yes there are a few fringe lunatics out there in the online discernment ministry movement, but does that mean they are all lunatic freaks?

      RESPONSE: I never said otherwise.

      You apparently have not read much of ANYTHING I’ve written on this issue, which is unfortunate, but predictable. Here’s something you should have found in all your research, which was stated by my in the very first official article I ever wrote on the subject of ODMs:

      “Not all websites/blogs committed to offering discernment/apologetics information is included in this category of Online Discernment Ministries. I am exclusively applying that term to a very specific kind of apologetic/discernment organization/person that is active on the Internet. These types of persons/organizations are more akin to witch-hunters than professional apologists or even lay/responsible apologists.”

      That doesn’t sound at all like I’m lumping everyone into one category who is online or who is involved in discernment. I have many many friends who are into apologetics and discernment online.

      _______________
      BRAD: You and Richard are both guilty of the same thing, you both whine about people judging others “guilt by association” blah blah blah and yet you both turn around and do the same thing as you are doing with ODM’s.

      RESPONSE: Wrong. I’m not tarring and feathering you as guilty for being associated with anyone (or anything) else but your OWN PERSONAL flawed research, ideas, perspectives, and accusations.

      Any criticisms I’ve made of you are all a result of what you, and you alone, have said here. The only comparison I make is that some of your views/words/arguments mirror those of other ODMs. But you are not guilty for any of their behavior/words. You’re guilty for your own. (Even here, as you can see, you’ve just made another false accusation).

      _____________
      BRAD: End Times Visions: The Road to Armageddon? Where he incorectly and in my opinion sinfully misrepresented facts and twisted words and took things out of context without even coming to the people he wrote about first and asking them their side of the story. That is extremely poor judgement and journalism in my opinion.

      RESPONSE: End-Time Visions didn’t distort ANYTHING or twist ANYTHING. It showed in one volume the many different ways, the many different people, and the many times in history when end-time obsession has led to false date-setting and false date-predicting. And that, as they say, is that.

      The people who got upset were those I didn’t hesitate to name and simply quote in order to show their various false (and/or misleading) end-times claims. Don’t blame me — blame them. Shall I again list for you all of the false prediction/suggestions made by various Christians? Surely, no one needs that. Once more, blame them, not me.

      ____________
      BRAD: Richard makes numerous mistakes either through not caring or through a very serious lack of judgement, neither being a good thing in what is considered to be a “widely known expert of the cult and occult?”

      RESPONSE: Here’s a couple thoughts.

      First, I have no doubt there are mistakes in EVERYONE’S WORK in one way or another. We are all human — even Dave Hunt (who by the way is not as reliable/trustworthy as you think). No volume is inerrant except the Bible. All man-made books are subject to human frailty, limits of talent, factual error, poorly worded phrases, etc. I gladly embrace my humanity and fall before the cross, humbly submitting my flawed self for the work of the ministry.

      Second, feel free to list all of these horrible mistakes……the Mormons tried it with my books critical of the LDS church and they failed. Oh, and if you want to criticize my interpretation of various Bible passages, then let me just stop you. There are a number of end-times views that are acceptable within Christianity. Holding to one that might be different from yours is not sin.

      ______________
      BRAD: Both of you set yourselves up in your ivory towers and feel free to sling arrows at those who disagree with you, whether you have evidence or not.

      RESPONSE: I’m about the LEAST ivory-tower guy out there. I am in no ivory tower. But at the same time I will NOT tolerate lies and misrepresentations in the name of God, the Bible, apologetics, or discernment. (Another accusation, btw, without any evidence presented). And the only ones ignoring evidence here are the ODMs. If interested, you can read my articles on Rick Warren that pulls quotes from him IN CONTEXT, and examines his views and actions in light of not only scripture, but also his overall theological worldview.

      ______________
      BRAD: I asked a question about Richard’s book which you have posted an opinion on and asked about how Richard can go out and put a negative light on hollywood’s religions and yet still stand up for others whom he has chosen to befriend, which was a valid question.

      RESPONSE: I answered you with scripture, as well as sound thought/reasoning, and you responded by calling it “crap.” There’s really not much else to say.

      RA

Comments are closed.