The Dangerous Theological Errors of Hyper Preterism Part 6: Sin and Spin

 

 

I use to play basketball. One of the things that really ticked me off was how unfair I felt the referees were towards me. I got fouled a LOT which the referee never seemed to catch. So being the dumb kid that I was I would foul them right back; the whistle would blow and the zebras would say “31 White with a push” 31 being me of course. I would offer the feeble excuse “he fouled me first” and when the zebra gave me a funny look I would smart off and get hit with a technical foul……

 

 

My retaliation not only hurt myself but my team as well. Not very smart eh?

 

 

My coach would sit me on the bench after my “t” but that didn’t really make that much of a difference. Coach was smart and found a way to cure me of my stupidity. He made me ref little kids basketball games! You know what I learned? The zebras ALWAYS see the retaliation! I never got another technical again.

 

 

I know professing Christians that do the very same stupid thing that I did. They feel they’ve been wronged and retaliate and ALWAYS get caught. I actually confronted a “christian” named Michael Bennett recently who felt retaliating for perceived wrongdoing on the part of another Christian was ok because he felt “they did it first”. (source)

 

 

Is this a valid excuse from a professing Christian to justify his own sin? I don’t think so but lets see what the Apostle Paul has to say on the matter;

 

 

Romans 12:17-21 NIV

Do not repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody. If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. On the contrary: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good

 

 

The Apostle Peter, no stranger to retaliation had this to say;

 

 

 

 

1Peter 3:9-14 NIV

Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. For, “Whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.” Who is going to harm you if you are eager to do good? But even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. “Do not fear what they fear ; do not be frightened.” .

 

 

It’s never ok to repay evil with evil. I know these aren’t “time texts” but sound Christian principles that Bennett seemed to miss to his own detriment. He not only hurt himself but others as well only I don’t think he gets that just yet but he will soon enough.

 

 

Please don’t be as foolish as the guy above was. Repaying evil for evil is foolish Brethren. That’s how unregenerated people act and certainly NOT how a regenerated man is supposed to act.

 

 

Unlike my case Bennett’s coach Sam Frost wasn’t wise enough to sit him down after he was rebuked for his foolishness and instead let him remain in the game to hurt his team even more then he already had. Frost should have done this instead;

 

 

1Timothy 5:20 NIV

Those who sin are to be rebuked publicly, so that the others may take warning.

 

 

Had Frost done this maybe things would be different. Unfortunately Frost didn’t have the backbone to stand up to his player and allowed assistant coach Jason Bradfield to play spin master and make excuses for his players poor conduct. (source) (source) (source)

 

If SGP were a basketball team Bennett would most likely be released from the team while Frost and Bradfield would be looking for employment elsewhere. Because these folks claim to be Christians Paul instructs us to;

 

 

1Corinthians 5:11 NIV

But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat.

 

Why is this article included in this series? The answer is simple; rather then publicly denounce open unrepentant sin the SGP leadership has decided to sweep it under the rug and created their own Clintonian spin to cover-up Michael Bennett’s despicable behavior. SGP members desire to be treated as Christians yet don’t seem to have the foggiest idea how to act like Christians. That’s the heart of this matter as far as I’m concerned.

 

28 thoughts on “The Dangerous Theological Errors of Hyper Preterism Part 6: Sin and Spin

  1. […] Theology Today put an intriguing blog post on The Dangerous Theological Errors of Hyper Preterism Part 6: Sin and SpinHere’s a quick excerptI use to play basketball. One of the things that really ticked me off was how unfair I felt the referees were towards me. I got fouled a LOT which the referee never seemed to catch. So being the dumb kid that I was I would foul them right back; the whistle would blow and the zebras would say “31 White with a push” 31 being me of course. I would offer the feeble excuse “he fouled me first” and when the zebra gave me a funny look I would smart off and get hit with a technical foul……  My retaliatio […]

  2. I always say the difference between a Christian and the others is what we do after we know we have sinned and/or been confronted with it.

    Also, it’s not about “us” versus “them”. It’s Christ we represent in our actions.

    This story reminds me of my son playing little league baseball. I was scorekeeping his game and when my son stole home the umpire called him out. When he stood up the ball was under him, so it wasn’t a good call. The ump didn’t know I was his mom and came to me wispering “boy was that a bad call”. I grinned and said “yeah, that was my son too”

    That umpire pulled my son aside after the game and explained he made a bad call and wanted my son to know he knew it but the call had been made, so he had to abide by it. That became my son’s favorite umpire after that. He trusted him.

    The actions of that umpire and the quickness of my son to forgive served to make both of them stronger…as a player and an ump.

    We all make mistakes but it’s what we do after we know it that makes the difference.

    • Hi,

      You know what else I learned from officiating? When you blow a call you don’t do a “make up” call to even things out because now you’ve made two bad calls instead of one.

      Those were valuable lessons I learned.

      Phil

  3. Wow, very good, practical, biblical precepts. & I like Dorothy’s follow up too.

    Unfortunately, I doubt they will listen. They suffer from Proverbs 26:12.

    • Hi,

      Thanks!

      I know the leadership over there won’t listen but maybe someone that despises sin will have the courage to publicly denounce their leadership.

      You never know just who might step up to the plate over this.

      Phil

  4. Nice article, Phil. I’m glad you’re exposing the character of these folks.

    I just did a new Bible study which exposes the errors of Covenant Creationism. It is available at my Anti-Preterist blog.

    CREATION AND THE FULLNESS OF GOD

    “Recently, a small sect of liberal scoffers arose to challenge the orthodox interpretation of the Genetic account. This group, which stands for “Covenant Creationism,” claims that the term “heavens and earth” really refers to something allegorical and covenantal. Since this group is so vocal, we thought we’d do a podcast to affirm the Biblical teaching of creation. In this informal 45-minute study, Brian Simmons views the Genetic creation from the standpoint of the Pleroma, and proves that the Genetic account describes a literal creation which will one day “pass away.” Perhaps few studies will be found more destructive of Hyper-Preterist doctrines!”

    Peace & Health,

    Brian

    • Hi,

      I agree. Hyper Preterism is a very destructive heresy. Those adhering to this are playing with fire. Its too bad the majority are too arrogant to see this.

      Phil

  5. P.S. — If anyone wants to hear the podcast without going directly to my blog, here’s the link:

    [audio src="http://antipreterist.files.wordpress.com/2009/02/creation.mp3" /]

    Brian

  6. Hi Phil,

    Out of curiosity, what would you say to the person who “fouled you”? Or, as in the Scriptural reference you gave, the one who gave “evil” first?

    Thank you,
    Sharon N.

      • Hi Phi,

        Yeah, thats pretty simple.

        In your example Mike Bennett is the one repaying evil he received. So are you then saying that DeeDee was also guilty of evil first? If so, then how do you view that person and what should a Christian do in that case? Should they bring it up to them?

        • Hi,

          I never said Dee Dee did anything wrong. Mike and the SGP leadership feel she has. I don’t agree with them. Either way you don’t repay evil for evil perceived or otherwise.

          A Christian that has been sinned against privately should always go to the person directly (Matthew 18). Public open sin should be rebuked publicly.

          Hope that helps.

          Phil

        • Phil,

          I’m not suggesting that anyone should ever repay evil for evil.

          Thank you for your answer.

          Sharon

        • Hey Sharon,

          I think Phil hit the nail on the head when he called it a “perceived wrongdoing”.
          As a player, it should have been brought to the attention of the ref and he should not have taken action on his own. The player did not have the authority to do so.

          We don’t have the authority to take vengeance. That belongs to God, thus we have no license to sin.

          Now Bennett may feel he has been wronged or sinned against, but he had no right to take matters into his own hand.

          Get him back in good standing and then if he feels he has been sinned against, it can be dealt with, but right now, this issue stands in the way.

          Our Biblical rememdy is repentance or sanctions. His lack of a repentance places him under sanctions and I just hate that. Nothing would please me more than to see him repent – well there is one thing that would please me more, but I’ll leave it at that. :))

  7. Hi Rod,

    Yes, my son’s experience happened when he was pretty young and after that he had a different outlook on umps. He was a pitcher, and of course calls there are important, but my son never let the bad calls bother him. He never stopped smiling from the mound and it didn’t take him long to realize that his attitude served to make the ump work harder..and for him to be closer to the strike zone. 🙂

    Over the course of his baseball years, “Smiley” set the standard for the conduct for a pitcher on the mound in the area leagues. Coaches were always talking about him. They used him as an example with their own players.

    It was such a respect for authority and what we do and how we act reflects Christ. It isn’t about “us” or “them”. It’s all about how we reflect Christ to others. He is our authority and we should honor that.

    • Hi Brian,

      This passage of Scripture seems to describe perfectly the majority of FP’s I’ve encountered;

      2Ti 3:1 But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come:
      2Ti 3:2 For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
      2Ti 3:3 unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good,
      2Ti 3:4 traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God,
      2Ti 3:5 having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!
      2Ti 3:6 For of this sort are those who creep into households and make captives of gullible women loaded down with sins, led away by various lusts,
      2Ti 3:7 always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.
      2Ti 3:8 Now as Jannes and Jambres resisted Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, disapproved concerning the faith;
      2Ti 3:9 but they will progress no further, for their folly will be manifest to all, as theirs also was.

      Of course they’ll just say this has been fulfilled as well……

      Phil

  8. Hi Phil,

    That’s an excellent point. You know, Yyper-Preterists ignore the fact that in A.D. 67-68, it was too late for a future development of the apostasy, if Christ would come in A.D. 70. The apostasy has to precede the parousia of the “man of sin” — and yet the same “Man of Sin” would function for the last 3 1/2 years of the age. So when Paul wrote to Timothy, the man of sin was (according to Preterist logic) already functioning. Therefore, it was too late for Paul’s prediction to Timothy to have a first-century fulfillment.

    Incidentally, those verses only substantiate everything I laid down in my “Last Days” podcast. The last days did begin in A.D. 30, but there was a break in Acts 28 — so in Paul’s later writings, he refers to the “last days” as future.

    Peace & Health,

    Brian

  9. Hyper-Preterists remind me of a group of AIDS-cases who blame the city-council for not providing condoms free of charge. The fallacy is pretty obvious. When we make a “lifetsyle” choice to embrace heresy, the established church easily becomes the “enemy.” Hyper-Prets have been openly rebuffed, kicked in the head, and cast out of assembles, and so their posture toward the truth is entirely offensive. Like the AIDS-cases mentioned above, they simply WILL not hold themselves responsible for their own lifestyle choice. It’s always OUR fault that they’re in this mess.

    Brian

  10. I love the “Clintonian” reference. It depends on what the meaning of “is” is. If you don’t get the love your neighbor as your self thing, what difference does time make?

  11. Well, their sin has come full circle. Even some of their fellow hyperpreterists from another faction see their hypocrisy. After Jason went to another hyperpreterist website causing a ruckus, this is what one of his fellow hyperpreterist said & how Jason unbelievably responded:

    Fellow hyperpreterist named Rich takes Jason to task for his hypocrisy:

    *Sheeesh Jason, you’re unbelievable. Shouldn’t you be over at Theology Today dealing with Bennett’s Whore of Babylon portrayal of Dee Dee (among all the many other fights you’ve started with Rod and gang), which you completely defended? But, no you’re off over here wanting to start another round of arguments at another site. Is starting arguments a second job on the side for you? Or, perhaps it’s just something you enjoy. (link)

    *Jason actually responds with more hypocrisy: “Oh, that is classic. Your behavior gets exposed and it’s everyone else who is acting in an ungodly manner. Classic blame shifting. Adam would be proud.” (link)

    Man, these guys are like numb to what they are actually doing. When even their otherwise allies point this stuff out to them, don’t you think they would pause a moment & consider it???? Nope, they can never be wrong. Not about practical matters & certainly not about theology….even though the Bible & 2000 years of Christian interpretation is against them.

  12. I learned long ago that it is futile trying to persuade these heretics to behave like Christians. It’s expecting wolves to act like lambs.

    As Tertullian said long ago:

    “Their very unity is schism. I am very greatly in error if they do not amongst themselves swerve even from their own regulations, forasmuch as every man, as it suits his own temper, modifies the traditions he has received after the same fashion as the man who handed them down did, when he molded them according to his own will. The majority of them have not even churches. Motherless, houseless, creedless, outcasts, they wander about in their own essential worthlessness.”

    Brian

  13. These links were deleted by the hyperpreterist admin (Virgil Vaduva) — more cover up.

    • Hi,

      If anyone is interested I have a copy of the entire exchange so just send me an email and I’ll send it to you.

      Thanks Rod for always keeping us posted!

      Phil

  14. Thanks for keeping us posted Phil. Did you see the phrase, “please forgive me” anywhere in that link? Oh, well I guess it is something.

Comments are closed.