Are You a Member of the WoF Movement? by Boyd Miller

 

 

 

Here’s a test to see if you are a member of the Word of Faith movement.

 

1. Do you believe that the more money you give at church or religious gatherings, the more money you will receive in return?

 

2. Do you believe that it cost money to preach the gospel?

 

3. Do you believe you will lose your salvation if you do not contribute money?

 

4. Do you believe God has anointed certain people to collect money in his name?

 

5. Do you believe a life in Christ will include wealth and health here in the flesh?

 

6. Do you believe the reason some people in your congregation are poor and sick is because they have failed to tithe?

 

7. Do you believe that by enriching your pastor and erecting buildings that you are serving God?

 

(I have stopped at seven questions for those of you that attend bible numerology seminars.)

 

If you have answered any of the above questions “yes”, then you are a member of the Word of Faith movement and have disregarded the word of God.

 

You cannot serve God and mammon. Mt. 6:24, Lk 16:13

6 thoughts on “Are You a Member of the WoF Movement? by Boyd Miller

  1. Paudl said, “When I preach the gospel, I may present the gospel of Christ WITHOUT CHARGE, so that I will not abuse my authority inm the gospel” 1 Cor. 9:18. WOF GREATLY abuse what little authroity they have in the gospel.

  2. Hi Boyd,

    Well, here are my answers…

    1 – no
    2 – no
    3 – no
    4 – no
    5 – no
    6 – no
    7 – no

    And just for good measure and so I’m perfectly CLEAR

    8 – NO

  3. Boyd and all,
    It actually does cost money to spread the gospel. When I witness in the streets I have to actually drive there. So I have to work my job, my wife works hers, and we do the work. When we have folks over to do Bible study, we open our home and that costs money. When I was self-employed any ministry cost lots of money because it took away from my time and energy in the business.

    When my wife and I help a missionary or support New Tribes Mission, it takes money.

    The abuses of today are evil. In fact, if you read my blog, you will know that I have been lately harping on Corporate Religion. Read it here: http://dontadddontsubtract.blogspot.com/2009/01/american-evangelicalism-is-mental_12.html . On the other hand, it worries me that so much be said in this circle of friends as if money is evil. This is no more true than the lies of the WoFers. One extreme isn’t cured by going to the opposite extreme.

    I oppose even the building of “church buildings” in most cases. (Indeed, we’ve bent the language from scriptural language by naming a building of wood, plaster, and glass by the same name we use for God’s bride. This is a great evil. God didn’t kill His only Son for dirt and wood! He killed Him for us, the assembly! Never cheapen the sacrifice Jesus made with His blood!) Why does a church spend money and time on the lawn of the building and maintaining the building, when less time and money is spent on evangelizing right in their own home towns? This is surely sin. You CANNOT find any excuse for this behavior in the New Covenant. However, an insistance that money has no place in the work of the gospel does three really bad things.

    1. It denies the reality that we live in a world where the medium of exchange is money. Not rice cakes, not seashells, not corn, not grain–money.

    2. It calls evil what God has called good. This is surely sin, too.

    Consider these passages:
    Proverbs 3:9 Honor the LORD from your wealth…
    Proverbs 8:20-21 I walk in the way of righteousness, In the midst of the paths of justice, To endow those who love me with wealth, That I may fill their treasuries.
    Proverbs 10:15 The rich man’s wealth is his fortress, The ruin of the poor is their poverty.
    Proverbs 13:22 A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children, And the wealth of the sinner is stored up for the righteous. (Would God give an evil thing to the righteous?)
    Proverbs 15:6 Much wealth is in the house of the righteous, But trouble is in the income of the wicked. (Does righteous living produce evil fruit?)
    Proverbs 19:14 House and wealth are an inheritance from fathers, But a prudent wife is from the LORD.
    Proverbs 29:3 A man who loves wisdom makes his father glad, But he who keeps company with harlots wastes his wealth. (If money is bad, why not waste it?)
    Ecclesiastes 7:12 For wisdom is protection just as money is protection. But the advantage of knowledge is that wisdom preserves the lives of its possessors.
    Ecclesiastes 10:19 Men prepare a meal for enjoyment, and wine makes life merry, and money is the answer to everything. (The preacher is taking poetic liscense here.)

    The parentheses were added.

    Of couse, these are verses that speak of wealth positively and there are many which speak of the evil that is in the pursuit of wealth by fraud and dishonesty and many which speak of the sin of loving wealth.

    3. It does actual harm to the cause of purity. Yes, a thousand times yes, we need to get the greed out of the gospel. Most of American religion centers around “Big and Flashy” and so money and power are all important to it. However, by taking a position that is neither logically or biblically defensible, we are in the same position as the WoFers. Just like them, we are way off–just in the opposite direction.

    It’s not just the WoFers who are money-and-power nuts. I believe the only way one can explain so much of what is going in the ME (Modern Evangelical) movement is to admit that it’s main goals are money and power for the clergy and leaders. It’s not about God. I believe it’s wrong to put more effort into a formal organization than into evangelism. But every church I’ve been a part of does it. So we have a lot of ground to cover. Real, biblical, Christ-centered religion looks foreign to them. They don’t recognize it at all. When we go even further than the Bible tells us to, it actually makes our job of restoring purity to the church harder, because we are going further than mere purity. We are trying to pull them further than that. AND it kills our credibility. Our credibility is stretched already just asking them to return to Scripture. But when we stand on the other side of Scripture, then they will recognize that our position isn’t right, either. They will simply return falsely assured in their minds that what they are doing is right.

    They major on money and health. That doesn’t mean we are to major on poverty and disease. Just as the WoFers now err in their pursuit of money and health, even so, at times and places some have become ascetics, making laws for themselves and others to keep that God has not made. If a man is saved when I street preach and comes to our house for worship, I expect him to soon come to the realization that he can help buy tracts and food just like I do. And if he doesn’t I’ll sit him down and have a chat man-to-man. I’ll ask him why he wants it free?

    There are two extremes. Both are bad.

    I will end with the parable of the talents in Matthew 25. The servants who used the money for profit in God’s kingdom were rewarded. The one who didn’t do anything with it was sent to hell. Now what does the money in the parable stand for? Of course, it stands for my time. I’d better be investing my time. What else? My skills? Yes, I’d better be using my skills. My home? Yes, I’d better be hospitable and buy influnece that way.

    So what about my money? Is God not the giver of my wealth, too? Does He not have a right to it? Am I not His slave when I deal financially, just like I’m His slave in all other areas of my life?

    Here’s the bottom line: God owns me. My time. My wife. My house. My dog. My money. All of it.

    Think about it carefully, my brothers and my sisters.

    I love you,
    Phil Perkins.

Comments are closed.