Don’t Hate the Player Hate the Game Part 2

In my last posting “Don’t Hate the Player Hate the Game” I discussed how we as Christian blogger’s should deal with people in the comments box. My dear friend and Brother Yomi Adegboye made mention that exposing the wolves and their false doctrines shouldn’t be considered “playa hatin’….and he’s absolutely correct….

 

I have been accused by many of hating the subjects on this site. I’m told that my language is too strong or I don’t use enough Scripture to prove my points. They say I shouldn’t be sarcastic and I should stop all the “name calling” Today I’m going to demonstrate for you some biblical examples that what I’m doing isn’t hating but doing what the Bible calls us to do…

 

Here are some colorful descriptions of false teachers found in Scripture. (All Scripture is ESV)

Wolves (Matthew 7:11, Matthew 10:16, Luke 10:3, Acts 20:29)
Evil beasts (Titus 1:12)
Whitewashed tombs (Matthew 23:27)
Vipers (Matthew 3:7, Matthew 12:34, Matthew 23:33, Luke 3:7)
Hypocrites (Matthew 15:7, Matthew 22:18, Matthew 23:13)
Fools (Matthew 23:17)
Deceivers (Titus 1:10, 2John 1:7)
Cursed (Matthew 25:41)

 

Notice who was doing most of the “name calling”? Jesus. If you understand Greek then you would know how strong those words are. Call a Greek a hypocrite or a whitewashed tomb and you will most likely get punched in the nose. Far worse then calling someone a clown I assure you. The next time you accuse me of player hating for calling someone a clown you’d better say the same thing to Jesus….and remember He was blameless and sinless.

 

Now I know that some of you will say that I claim to be blameless and sinless….I’m not saying that. What I am saying is that if Jesus could say these things and it wasn’t a sin for Him then why are you accusing me of “player hating” when I do it? Jesus wasn’t calling the laity names but the teachers….keep the following in mind;

 

James 3:1 ESV

Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.

 

Teachers will be judged with greater strictness. If you read the Scriptures I provided then you will see that Jesus and His disciples directed their harshest rebukes toward the teachers of the day…particularly for the false teachers. What does it mean to reprove and rebuke?

 

REPROVE (Greek)

1) to convict, refute, confute
a) generally with a suggestion of SHAME of the person convicted
b) by conviction to bring to the light, to expose to bring to the light
2) to find fault with, correct
a) by word
1) to reprehend SEVERELY, chide, admonish, reprove
2) to call to account, show one his fault, demand an explanation
b) by deed
1) to chasten, to punish

 

REBUKE (Greek)

To tax with fault, rate, chide, rebuke, reprove, censure severely
a) to admonish or charge sharply

 

2Timothy 4:2-4 ASV (emphasis mine)

 Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; REPROVE, REBUKE, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine. For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.

 

So, we should expose rebuke and reprove….but can we do this by using only strong rhetoric? I think Paul summed it up fairly well for us. He instructs us to use sound doctrine to reprove rebuke and exhort. Doctrine is harsh. It is an offense but it isn’t player hating…..in fact it’s quite the opposite.

 

As a professional tennis instructor I reserve the harshest criticisms for the ones I care about the most. If I say nothing to them or don’t attempt to ever correct them then it’s painfully obvious I don’t care about them. When I see so-called Christian leaders like Ray Comfort refusing to rebuke and reprove WoF wolves I see a man who simply doesn’t care about them….that’s player hating people.

 

Failing to correct is player hating…..but criticism without correction is player hating. I’m fairly certain that I have attempted to use sound doctrine to go along with my strong rebuke with every wolf I have exposed here on this site. If I haven’t then you let me know and I’ll do my best to correct that because I don’t want to be a player hater.

 

I’ve seen sites where authors of blog posts totally rip on Paula White. They talk about her airplane, her surgeries, her hair, speculate on whom she’s dating yet don’t even attempt to correct her using sound doctrine…that’s player hating and goes against what Paul instructed Timothy and us to do. If your site claims a desire to warn others then you had better use sound doctrine to go along with your personal criticisms or your warnings will fall on deaf ears….and most likely you will make an enemy of the very people you are claiming to warn.

 

So do the right things when you blog. Go right ahead and be harsh or sarcastic or whatever toward the false teachers….there are plenty of biblical examples of this. Just make sure you attempt to correct while you’re criticizing with sound doctrine or you will be guilty of player hating which is totally unbiblical and not very Christ like.

 

Don’t Hate the Player Hate the Game Brethren!!     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Don’t Hate the Player Hate the Game Part 2

  1. Brother,

    You said:

    I’ve seen sites where authors of blog posts totally rip on Paula White. They talk about her airplane, her surgeries, her hair, speculate on whom she’s dating yet don’t even attempt to correct her using sound doctrine…that’s player hating and goes against what Paul instructed Timothy and us to do. If your site claims a desire to warn others then you had better use sound doctrine to go along with your personal criticisms or your warnings will fall on deaf ears….and most likely you will make an enemy of the very people you are claiming to warn.

    These words of yours illustrate clearly what playa-hatin is. The people who do things like this usually are just haters and gossipers poking their noses about with an air of superiority.

    But when we stick with Scriptures, we strike the right balance. We show people from Scriptures what false teachers are saying and doing that is wrong, and then show from Scriptures what the right thing is. Yes; we rebuke and challenge, but the Lord knows that there is no hatred in my heart for any of these wolves and devourers.

    No Hater has Christ in him. May God continue to search our hearts and help us stay with what is written.

  2. Phil,

    What I’ve done is put up both parts of this series on “Playa-hatin” on my site as one single post. It really is refreshing reading them together.

    God bless you for the words of caution and the exhortation that we stay with Scriptures. I’m not sure why these two articles of yours are having this effect on me, but honestly I keep returning to them again and again.

    Maybe its because at my local church we just dealt with a case in which about 4 or 5 ladies got out of the bondage they had been subjected to for years. Those ladies are torn up up from all the abuse, and its easy for them to hate right now.

    Your article is just timely for all of us.

    Once again, THANK YOU!!! Thank you so much.

  3. “Failing to correct is player hating…..but criticism without correction is player hating.”
    This statement is still ringing in my head up to this moment.

    I see the importance of righteous judgment, and I also see the importance of warning a brother who is headed for a ditch.

  4. Now, this is what I call sound doctrine. This is a teaching we should all take into cognisance. Sometimes we get carried away when addressing issues of the faith that we forget to check ourselves if we haven’t turned it into something else.

    Like you rightly put it Phil, every reprove or correction should be based on scriptures not on our feelings or personal preferences. Some don’t know jack about the Word, but they are quick to judge and badmouth others, hence they fall into greater condemnation.

    Mat 7:1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
    Mat 7:2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.

  5. Acturally I see the hate more from the defenders of these idols than from those who crititize, however I get your point. If you separate the ODM’s that have a profit motive from those who don’t then the line is pretty plain. It seem to me that the crudest comments that flew around the web in the recent Silva/Albanes debate were from the defender commenters.
    I’m pretty certain that both men profitted from this exchange by the sale of books and donations. Picking a fight with the competition is an old weapon and part of the business model.

    “Do I not hate them, O Lord, who hate You? And do I not loathe those who rise up against You? I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them my enemies”. Psalm 139:21-22

    It is interesting that in most cases like Paula White, they will not scripturally engage in a discussion of their beliefs, having decided that to do so would damage their marketing plans. The extend to which they have been overtaken with covetiousness is so great that anyone who opposes them is labeled as envious.

    There is some hatred out there on the part of former followers of these people. The failure or lack of repentance of one’s covetiousness that led them to these people, can be identified by the with anger and hatred for the money they lost.

  6. Phil,

    My question is this when does someone go from regurgitating poison (as you mentioned in the first post) to being a ravenous wolf. And how do we know when that transforamtion has taken place. For instance I wonder if some who we consider Pimps now were once just regurgitators and somehow drove off of the cliff so to speak. How much poison do they swallow before they turn into a wolf? I am not a defender of these ministries by the way. I am just asking an honest question.

    Phil: I don’t know the answer to that question….I will think about it and answer later on in the day. Anyone have any thoughts on Carey’s comments?

  7. I must say that the issues Carey raised are things I have reflected on again and again.

    Usually, if a person is on the pulpit, I engage them in as constructive a discussion as possible, and give them time to present their arguments. Where and when such individuals have been presented with clear exegesis of Scriptures and they resort to playing with words, twisting Scriptures, changing clear Biblical definitions and such things as wolves do, I treat them as wolves from that point on.

    It may not be a fool-proof method. But at least, I am satisfied that I gave the benefit of doubt. I leave the rest to God from that point.

    One thing is sure: We must continue to guard our hearts, our motives, and generally judge even ourselves, lest we find out that we have strayed far from the path that is right.

  8. Cerey

    I personally believe there’s a major difference between being a “pimp supporter” and being a pimp. Remember that a “pimp” profits from his or her pimpery.

    I’m fairly certain most of what we refer to as pimps learned the tricks of the trade by sitting under other pimps. Kenyon influenced Hagin who influenced Copeland who influenced the majority of the WoF wolves out there today.

    I was personally influenced by Jesse Duplantis. I heard him “preach” while I was in school….I come from an SBC background and knew he was full of beans yet when I saw those big buckets of cash my greed meter went off (as well as my growling stomach)…well I was hooked so to speak. It’s financially beneficial to tell people that God will bless them 100 fold if you give the ministry (me) some cash…kinda like a supernatural lottery. I guess you could say I became a “mini-pimp” overnight and that lasted for about five years or so…..and then God stepped in.

    That’s my answer…..

    Anyone else like to chime in and help answer our Brother’s question? I know there are a few of you with a story similar to mine….

  9. I was personally influenced by Jesse Duplantis. I heard him “preach” while I was in school….I come from an SBC background and knew he was full of beans yet when I saw those big buckets of cash my greed meter went off (as well as my growling stomach)…well I was hooked so to speak. It’s financially beneficial to tell people that God will bless them 100 fold if you give the ministry (me) some cash…kinda like a supernatural lottery. I guess you could say I became a “mini-pimp” overnight and that lasted for about five years or so…..and then God stepped in.

    Phil, you mean you flourished in the art of pimping for five years? Where was I to share in the loot. Supernatural lottery sounds more like what it is. 😀

    Phil: There wasn’t that much loot…I was doing tennis as well, that’s probably where most of the loot came from lol:).

    Had I of stayed with the WoF, I for SURE would’ve been on Pulpit-Pimps and Yomi Says:)

  10. In response to carey’s question, I would like to introduce the “sincere wrong” phrase people love to use their MOGs. At what point can we say someone is sincerely wrong?

    Is there any difference between someone who is sincerely wrong and someone who is aware of what he is doing? Phil: Sure. There are many that fit that bill. Tithing is one example…..another would be infant baptism IMHO

    Is actually possible to be sincerely wrong? Phil: See my answer above

    Aren’t we all suppose to follow scriptures as it is written in 1Tim 2:15?Phil: Yes we are but interpreting the bible can be dicey at times….as we grow in our knowledge we sometimes change our opinions

    Please, I will love to have answers to these questions. I know that we have some folks that are sincere in their pursuit of God and have missed one or two teachings from God’s word. I believe for such people God will find a way to get the truth accross to them like he did Apollos.

    However, if they come accross the truth and still choose not to change, then something is wrong.

    Phil: That would be the difference my friend. Knowingly preaching a false gospel makes one a wolf because then we have to question motives….Anyone else like to take a stab at this?

  11. naomijt,

    I beg to disagree. This is not a case of being “sincerely wrong” or not. The context of the question is that of defining a wolf and a blind follower.

    Everyone in error is guilty to one extent or the other; yet not everyone in error is a wolf. The wolf preys on others. Deceived people are merely lost, stumbling, and falling into the hands of the wolves.

  12. @ Phil,

    LOLROTF.

    And what a scrutiny you would have come under.

    I’m thinking that on this issue, this is where Jesus’ statement may come in: he who didn’t know his master’s will will receive the lesser strokes, but he who knew his master’s will and did it not will receive the greater strokes?

  13. Thank you all for the responses. I think I am receiving a clear view. To keep with Brother Phil’s analogy I think it happens when you start offering others the same poison that is making you regurgitate. In other words you want want them not only to have spit up on them but you cause them then to spit up on others (if that makes sense?) Once again I appreciate the responses.

Comments are closed.