To My Fellow Bloggers

The other day I was watching a guy attempt to teach his wife how to play tennis. The dude didn’t even know how to hold the racquet let alone play but he was acting and talking like he had spent his life on the tennis court. I see this quite a bit…..people without a clue what they are talking about acting like they know what they’re talking about yet lacking a clue. I’m starting to see this same thing in what is known as the “Christian Blogosphere”….folks who pretend to know what they are talking about yet totally lacking a clue and leading innocent sheep into the ditch because they have no clue as to what they are talking about.

 

Paul describes perfectly the type of teacher I will be addressing in this post;

 

1 Timothy 1:7 (ESV)

desiring to be teachers of the law, without understanding either what they are saying or the things about which they make confident assertions.

 

I can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve seen blog posts by bloggers who make it obvious they don’t know the first thing about the subject they are attempting to present as “truth”. Oh they use Scriptures and attempt to make a biblical presentation yet crumble like cookies as soon as the commenter’s show up questioning their presentations. I’ve even seen bloggers do a 360 degree turn and change their opinions which is a good thing for them but what about the reader who accepts the original post as fact and never returns to find out that what they’ve accepted as fact was actually wrong?

 

Matthew 18:5-7 ESV

 5 “Whoever receives one such child in my name receives me, 6but whoever causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a great millstone fastened around his neck and to be drowned in the depth of the sea.

Jesus was very serious about the situation I described above. He abhorred false teachers and teachers who led His sheep astray which is why He warned us in the following passage what will happen if we lead the sheep away from Him. What could be worse then having a millstone tied around your neck and get tossed into the sea? He’s going to send you and me to hell if we lead His sheep away from the truth my friends. Don’t believe me? Let’s read what James has to say about teachers….

 

James 3:1 (ESV)

1   Not many of you should become teachers, my brothers, for you know that we who teach will be judged with greater strictness.

 

Judged with a greater strictness. There are folks in the blogosphere who wouldn’t be allowed to teach a 4 year old Sunday school class attempting and pretending to teach “truth” when they don’t have a clue what the “truth” is exactly. I have to wonder if they’ve ever read James admonition and if they did do they take it seriously. Somehow I doubt it.

 

If you bloggers out there are teaching things you know nothing about then please stop what you are doing until you get a firmer grasp on the subject matter. Please consider the one time only viewer when you are writing a post because you could unknowingly be leading someone away from the truth and you will be held accountable for this.

 

19 thoughts on “To My Fellow Bloggers

  1. Very sobering reminder, Phil.

    We need to recognize that some of us inadvertently have some level of influence and bearing on those who come to read and if we aren’t careful we can lead others down a slippery slope.

    Thank you.

  2. Phil,

    This is a timely subject!

    I have run into one or two scenarios that fit your article. Not everyone attempting to teach should be, especially when it is clear that they do not have a firm foundation yet. This is just as true even if and when intentions are good.

    I am currently watching one scenario in which tacit encouragement is being given to individuals who want to lead believers back into the bondage of the Law of Moses (the Old Covenant).

    It is sad, and yes, it is a serious matter. The Lord help us teachers!

    Phil: I’m watching a couple situations closely as well and I may expand on this at some point.

  3. This is a serious issue. One that requires deep thinking.

    I know that we’ve led many astray in time past. Now that God has delivered us from error and brought us out of deception, we need to be careful and take time to study properly before presenting issues of the faith.

    One of the duties of a teacher is to rightly divide the word of truth. 2Timothy 2:15.

  4. in regards to ‘leading someone away from the truth’

    Phil: An example of this would be writing a post in regards to the baptism of the Holy Spirit and claiming that all who are “baptized” will speak in tongues…

  5. what about them that say we must keep the sabbath and keeping sunday as a day of worship is the mark of the beast ?

    Phil: I would say that this is a seventh day adventist “doctrine” that is flat out wrong…..they need to PROVE that to me.

  6. Vena,

    Please read Collosians 2:16-23 in regards to keeping the Sabbath. This should help you to see that keeping the Sabbath is Old Covenant Theology….

    In regards to Sunday worship being the “mark of the beast” I would like to see Scriptural proof that this is indeed the case…

  7. Thanks Phil,
    I can’t find any scriptural proof either in regards to the MOB… I don’t think the SDA can either unless they consider the writings of EG White equal to Scripture. Its amazing how convincing these false teachers sound whether they be SDA or WOF and it’s only by the Grace of God that I have been delivered about a year back.
    It is of great importance that people should be warned against these wrong teachings and I must say you are doing a great job of it !!.
    God Bless .

  8. Thanks again Phil… BTW have you heard about TB Joshua ?

    Phil: Nope. Who or what would this be?

  9. Vena,

    PS: I know about T.B. Joshua. He is a false teacher from my country, Nigeria.

    As for the idea of believers keeping the Sabbath, or of Sunday worship being the mark of the beast, it is absolute nonsense. New Testament teaching is clear that the Law of Moses (the Old Covenant) has been fulfilled by Christ and is passed away.

    Don’t be moved by those who will seek to peel you away from under the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ and back into the bondage of the Law.

    I recommend that you study the books of Galatians and Henrews for a thorough understanding.

  10. T.B Joshua is an occultist that has gradually manipulated his way into christian circles. He is now referred to as a MOG – Prophet T.B Joshua.

    He has a close alliance with Chris Oyakhilome. Apparently, they are both false teachers.

  11. If he’s a false teacher and really performs those miracles like in the videos…. he’s super dangerous. But on the other hand, if he’s from God it will be even more dangerous to blaspheme against him. I wish I could be enlightened about his doctrines.

  12. Thanks Dorothy for the link.

    T.B Joshua has improved I must say. He was crude and unpolished before. I gues that is the advantages of identifying with folks like Oyakhilome.

    I wonder why christians are so gullible. Imagine someone saying that he can be in so many places at the same time. How can any believer even consider that kind of person a man of God. He is certainly a man of gawd!!!

Comments are closed.