The Cluelessness of Chee

 

 

Yesterday I was commenting on one of the “prosperity gospel” blogs when the owner….a dude named Chee…. responded to my assertion that the Apostles were poor with this insightful gem “The idea of poor Apostles is a religious invention. The Bible has made it clear that Jesus died poor to make us rich. If the Apostles were poor, we can throw away the Bible because it is a lie.”

Now, let’s see what my bible says about the Apostles to see if they were indeed rich…..

2 Corinthians 6:9-10 (ESV)

as unknown, and  yet well known;  as dying, and behold, we live;  as punished, and yet not killed; as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing;  as poor, yet making many rich;  as having nothing,  yet possessing everything.

Paul says he was poor yet made others rich…..not monetarily rich but spiritually rich (Romans 2:4, 9:23, Ephesians 1:7, Ephesians 3:8). Paul said he had nothing yet possessed everything….hardly sounds like Paul was rich does it?

 

1 Corinthians 4:11-13 (ESV)

11 To the present hour we hunger and thirst, we are poorly dressed and buffeted and homeless, 12 and we labor, working with our own hands.  When reviled, we bless; when persecuted, we endure; 13 when slandered, we entreat.  We have become, and are still, like the scum of the world, the refuse of all things.

 

When was the last time you heard Bill Gates making a statement like Paul did in the text above? I wonder if there are any other examples that show Apostles other then Paul were rich.

 

Acts 3:6 (ESV)

6 But Peter said, “I have no silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you.  In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk!”

 

Was Peter lying….was Luke…..inspired by the Holy Spirit…… lying….or are the prosperity preachers lying? I know who I think it is….wanna take a guess 🙂

 

Clueless Chee says if the Apostles were poor then he should throw out his bible and I agree….he should toss that Creflo Dollar study bible in the garbage right away…..dontcha think?

 

Poor misguided Chee didn’t come up with this nonsense on his own…..naw…..he’s only regurgitating the same swill that has been spewed for years by hucksters like Kenneth Copeland, Creflo Dollar and Jerry Seville….who learned it from Kenneth Hagin…..who learned it from E.W Kenyon…..Kenyon had to have been drinking his bong water to come up with such lunacy.

 

It was fairly easy to refute Chee’s misguided assertion the Apostles were rich…most third graders in Sunday School can do this…..now lets examine the first half of his statement….Jesus died poor to make us rich….

The very first posting on this blog deals perfectly with Chee’s statement and I hope Chee has the courage to look at it;

https://phillyflash.wordpress.com/2007/03/19/was-jesus-monetarily-wealthy/

 

There’s nothing wrong with being wealthy…..but there is plenty wrong with being greedy. Paul warned Timothy of this (1Timothy 6:9-10) and verse 10 describes fairly accurately what we are seeing from quite a few preachers these days…..they fail to heed Paul’s warning to Timothy and have fallen….and have made a mockery of Christ in the process.

 

Just because Chee is clueless doesn’t mean that you have to be. When you hear claims such as “the apostles were wealthy” look it up for your selves and see if it’s true or not. If your teacher is off about something so easily refutable as Chee is…..they most likely are off about many things…..run from these people folks!

 

Check out Brother Isaiah’s excellent post regarding Chee and his heretical teachings here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “The Cluelessness of Chee

  1. Hi Douglas,

    If you follow the link I provided to Isaiah’s blog you will see that Chee isn’t interested in the whole council of God….he’s only “Christian” because the wolf he’s sitting under promised him health wealth and prosperity…..and anyone teaching otherwise just places him in “bondage”……those who challenge his flawed view he considers it as a “satanic attack”……

    The wolf that hooked Chee and others like him certainly did a masterful job of appealing to their flesh…..

    Sad Brother….very sad…..

  2. This new denomination(WOF) should be call Prospertarians and the followers could be call Cashitans, rather than Christians. If you follow their logic, then the holiest people around are the latest lotto winners. I’m still looking for that 130 year old billionaire Prospertarian in Tulsa.

  3. Chee is clueless – that is without question.

    According to his philosophy – the one who dies with the most toys wins….Yet Solomon – for all his weath, health and prosperity – called it vanity.

    I had the misfortune to sit with a couple not long ago who have been seduced with this belief system. They were actually listing all their accomplishments – a sound marriage, wealth, children, grandchildren, and property and they treated all of this like it was a balance sheet of Christian success. I came away from that conversation with the most profound sense of sadness.

    1John 2:16 For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.

  4. Well I visited Mr. Chee’s blog myself, and boy did I have to click off! Ever heard of the name Joseph Prince? That’s his pimp/wolf/false teacher – an antinomian who believes that sin allows for a greater measure of grace, though he runs behind Paul when he says “God forbid” – while being the exact embodiment of who Paul was speaking to.

    You say that the wolf did a good job appealing to his flesh – appealing to the flesh is exactly Prince’s unique selling point…

  5. Phil I read the post he has written and you are right. He’s looking for a quick fix. I would go as far and say he’s lacking faith in God. From reading his blog roll you can tell were his problem lies one of them is Mr. Dollar and the other one is Osteen.

    Any body that believe God puts cancer on you to get glory out of it needs to really get in a Bible teaching church and start reading for themselves.

  6. I saw the exchanges there, and I must be honest to say that at one point I got really riled up when he kept calling our Lord and Savior Christ Jesus a pervert and insisting that if he didn’t become rich then the WORD of GOD is untrue, making our Lord a liar but mere man honest.

    Sigh…

  7. Douglas,

    I saw this Prince guy speak on TV and shut him off..I didn’t realize that Prince was from Singapore…..but it just goes to show you that where the sheep are the wolves will be lurking about…..and Prince has done a good job on our friend Chee hasn’t he?

    Isaiah,

    I believe that Chee is sincere in his desire to serve God and others…but which God? You’ve made some outstanding points over there Brother!

    BTW….Chee has placed up another eisegetical masterpiece….he seems obsessed with money….but he doesn’t realize that money won’t buy his salvation…or anyone elses for that matter . Check it out for yourself;
    http://cheee.wordpress.com/2008/06/02/stand-up-pick-up-your-mat-and-walk/

    Phil

  8. Luke 12:15 And He said to them, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.”

    Luke 12:21 “So is he who lays up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.”

    Matt 6:19-20 “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.

    Jam 5:3 Your gold and silver are corroded, and their corrosion will be a witness against you and will eat your flesh like fire. You have heaped up treasure in the last days.

    Luke 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart* brings forth evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.

  9. Yup, Prince’s church is one of the largest down there. I heard him make some foolish comments the first time I watched, so I watched again to get this interpretation in full – it’s full of worms…

  10. Joseph Prince is from New Creation.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Megachurches_in_Singapore

    If you look at the top 10 list, the top two are WOF non-churches; another one holds a faith-healing service every month; and two are led by modern-day “apostles”. Yep, that’s the sorry state of pseudo-Christianity in Singapore. And I have friends/colleagues who attend some of these churches.

    Chee is deluded. Although if there’s something I can give him credit for, it’s his feeble attempt at expository preaching.

    Unfortunately, with an impending recession, I have a feeling that these prosperity non-churches will experience increased growth over the next few years. Sigh… 😦

    Phil: Hey Yonchung….thanks for posting this info…..and for taking the time to visit us! We miss your valuable contributions around here my Brother!

  11. Yongchun-

    You make a good point. Some of the worst of the worst made their way across the south and midwest doing tent revivals here in the US during the great depression. These type prey on the struggling. Most of the mega-churches are located in blighted areas.

  12. I concur with what Yongchun said.

    Prince is indeed the pastor of New Creation Church or better known as NCC, while the pastor of City Harvest Church (usually referred to as CHC in short) is Kong Hee.

    The latter is a big supporter of Benny Hinn, and has even appeared on Hinn’s television show. In fact, Hinn will be in Singapore later this year (God help us!) and Kong’s church is supporting the crusade. Kong’s wife is famous herself, and is well-known in the dance music circle. If you look search for the term “China Wine” on YouTube, you’ll see her (Warning: painful to watch). In a recent series of fund-raising sermons called “Arise and Build”, the church extorted, erm, I mean raised, $28 million.

    These two churches have HUGE attendance numbers, with most attendees being the young and impressionable.

    Phil: Thanks for the info Brother….I had no idea you had two very large wolves in Singapore….and I’ll bet many small ones attempting to emmulate them as well.

  13. He is a strange one Phil.

    Cant believe he has people believing what he thinks is right.

    Phil: Yep Cop…he’s confused and unless a miracle happens he will stay that way…

  14. Singapore is quite well-off, probably the most prosperous in this part of the world (South-east Asia), so it is no wonder that the prosperity pimps have set up shop here.

    From an early age, we are indoctrinated with the need to study hard and get all the necessary paper qualifications in order to land a good job and get rich. We are a nation where the rich just get richer and the poor poorer.

    You can’t expect a nation of people to not chase after these worldly “dreams” when our Cabinet ministers pay themselves millions per annum, with the Prime Minister earning S$3.7 million, many times the salary of folks like George Bush and countless world leaders.

  15. I was just about to point to that, Phil. You beat me in catching up with Chee, LOL!

    I am SCREAMING just reading his definition of sin and 3 John 1:2 is the ultimate and greatest wish of God for our lives…

    UGH!

  16. You beat me to it, Phil.

    I am soooo SCREAMING reading his definition of sin and how 3 John 1:2 is the greatest wish of God for our lives…

    Can you hear me from where you are?

  17. You beat me to it, Phil, LOL!

    I am SCREAMING just reading his definition of sin and how he says that 3 John 1:2 is God’s ultimate plan and greatest wish for us in our lives!

    Can you hear me from where you are?

  18. Btw, fellas, if I may digress a little. In Chinese culture, Yeap is his last name and Chee Seng is considered either his first or middle name. So we should be addressing him as Chee Seng, not Chee. Or Mr Yeap — if you’d like to be more formal.

    Similarly, my name is Yong Chun or Yongchun. Not Yong.. 😀

    Phil: Hi Yong Chun:) Thanks for the etiquette lesson….

  19. I am all tapped out Phil. My assment is that Chee Seng is a nut.

    You give him scripture, and he counters with his desires.
    You ask him questions, he counters with “stop with the slander”
    I am not sure who is leading him to believe his mess of theology but I pray that it doesnt spread.

    Judging by his blog not to many people have been listening, its mostly people asking how does he come to his delusion conclusions.

    Phil: The funny thing about Chee Seng is he claims a desire to help others yet won’t defend his theology for free….he wanted me and Douglas to “pay him” for teaching ud the truth….weird.

    You did a good job with him my friend…bravo Cop!

  20. OK, that may explain why he has been so rude…

    Seriously though, Chee Seng is clearly one of those “worst case scenario” WoF adherents we hope to never meet, and when we do, we really hope we hadn’t. He is so entrenched in his Kenyon-Haginian ideas, it is actually quite horrid to have a conversation with him.

    It’s kind of like watching a road traffic accident – you know you shouldn’t watch, but you know it was so easily avoidable. Anybody have any luck finding what church he was at before?

  21. Yongchun: Funny thing is I kinda prefer calling him just “Chee” myself, hehe!

    p.s. Phil, sorry about the repeat posts… I blame Safari.

  22. Isaiah,

    For some reason your posts keep getting tossed in the spam filter….I don’t care how many times you post the same thing here…and you just keep posting and I’ll keep publishing them!

    Phil

  23. Bro. Phil,

    Observe the following comment from our favourite blogger:

    I am interested in using the Bible for my prosperity. I welcome any ideas from you on this.

    WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA [draws breath] AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT? Using the Bible for my prosperity? He ought hang his head in shame!

  24. I think Cop just gave up too, after reading some of the latest comments there, and I like your retort on him claiming to be too busy to quote Scripture.

    God bless, bro.

  25. I really feel for these people and wish there was some way that the process they are going thru could be eased. The charsimatic movement is all about transitioning from being a servant of God ,to becoming a consumer of God. It has been my observation that once they step off this merry-go-round(prospertiy gospel) they become like a person who is standing in the ruins of a burned house sifting thru the refuse for something of value.

  26. I have officially given up trying to talk to that dude. I usually would go on and on, but please – I am dying of boredom with that guy! His stunt calling him an engineer did make me laugh though! “My blog is about engineering” – engineering a truth for himself to enjoy

    Phil: I gave up also….nice try Brother….keep praying for the guy!

  27. Hello, Boyd:

    Let me chime in with Isaiah: well said, sir.

    I am going to go out on a limb here and assume that as “a Hebrew of Hebrews” (Philippians 3:5), Saul of Tarsus might have accumulated more than a few denarii; maybe even a third chariot in the garage?

    So, what will our buddy, Chee, do with the sentiments of a regenerated Paul?

    Phil. 3:7 But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ.
    Phil. 3:8 More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ,

    I don’t think Paul was intent on using the Bible for prosperity.

  28. Phil, I saw your response to Chee Seng’s post on 1 Tim 6:6… brother, I don’t think that man knows what cherry-picking is. Maybe if you explain it to him like “that’s like only picking up US dollar notes instead of Russian roubles”, he might… /shrug.

    Kudos to you on being able to sit and read that entire post. I scrolled down fast to the comments after I saw his definition of true godliness.

  29. It doesn’t help that the ‘disease’ is being spread to many churches. Robb Thompson gave a rousing “sow and reap” sermon at another prosperity message church — City Harvest — just a fortnight ago.

    If you like, you can actually see and listen in on what filth is being taught: http://store.attributes.com.sg/tv.php

  30. Hi all,
    i came across this page randomly and having seen the comments written as above, I honestly feel slightly uncomfortable. I’m not really following any of the arguments nor do i defend anyone in this instance, but being a believer myself, I just do feel somehow, comfortable seeing some of the remarks made in the responses above. Won’t be popping by again – but thought i’d just share. Cheers.

  31. Hello, Eunice:

    So, you are “uncomfortable” and then you are “comfortable.”

    I would encourage you, Eunice, to take a stand, and do service to your namesake, Timothy’s mother, and to our Lord and Savior:
    “Fight the good fight of faith; take hold of the eternal life to which you were called, and you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.” – 1 Timothy 6:12.

    And, please, “pop by again,” and weigh in with some substance!

    In Christian love (a decision, not a feeling),
    Peter.

  32. Hi brothers and sisters in Christ,

    I am a citizen of Singapore. Yeap Chee Seng is also a Singaporean like me. I am currently worshipping in a presbyterian church. Recently, I read some of the posts by Yeap Chee Seng. Indeed, I am saddened to see a brother in Christ (if he still is as he claims to be) writing articles that are unbiblical, doctrinally and theologically flawed (Yeap detests “doctrine” and “theology”), and so poorly researched. Till this day, he is still doing that. Yeap Chee Seng, as pointed by one of the contributor on this blog, views those who disagrees with him as coming from “satan”. Such a view arises from the fact that he is so indoctrinated with Word-of-Faith teaching. Yeap Chee Seng would only accept this prosperity theology as the only valid theological truth through which he views the christian faith and his entire outlook in life. Any differing views, even if it is true, is rejected just because it is different from the prosperity theology.

    I also believe there is no point in engaging in fruitful apologetics and biblical discussions with Yeap because of his deep indoctrination which disavows any room for critical thinking. We must pray for Yeap. It is possible that he is an unregenerate person who was never a Christian to start with. If that is the case, all the more we should pray for the salvation of Yeap Chee Seng.

    My heart goes out to Yeap. May God be gracious to him.

    Regards,
    David.

Comments are closed.