Todd Bentley and the Florida Outpouring Part 8: Coming out of Deception

The only reason I operate this site is to warn others and to hopefully bring people back to the true Gospel of Christ. I guess you could call it seed planting. I also get the privilege of meeting people who have read this site….and many others like this one…. and have come out of deception by testing what they currently believe….by using the Word of God. One such person is Dawn…..a woman who has been at the Lakeland Outpouring from the very beginning. Below is her testimony that I would like you all who are caught up in the Lakeland Outpouring to please prayerfully consider…..

 

 

 

Coming out of Deception

I am coming away from revival with something I didn’t expect. Like many honest, God-fearing believers who love Him, I came expecting to find and come away with “more” of Him. What I have come away with is the realization that perhaps much of what I have built my Christian walk on is deception. This kind of deception cannot solely be laid at the feet of the Todd Bentleys, or even the Bob Jones of the world. It is much too insidious to be attributed to mere mortals. I see myself in each one of these individuals. They are me! I believe these are all men and women who love God and have honestly desired to follow after Him. But somehow, somewhere along the way, we began to listen to another gospel and follow another Jesus. I don’t believe for a moment that my journey out of deception is complete, but praise God, it’s a start.

 

I have spent a better part of the last 30 years in Charismatic/Pentecostal churches looking for “more” – more power, more anointing, more glory, more revelation, prosperity, divine health, and everything else I believed was mine in Christ. Those of us from the “more Lord” camp have come to the foot of the cross looking to get all that we can from Christ in order to live a life that is “more than abundant.” We have earnestly believed that with this abundant life, we would be able to expand the Kingdom of God and reach the world for Christ with our “kingdom power and kingdom wealth”. Therein lies the delusion! Is not this the same theology Satan tempted Jesus with in the wilderness?

Luke 4: 5-6 “And the devil, taking him up into an high mountain shewed unto him all the kingdoms of the world in a moment of time. And the devil said unto him, ‘All this power will I give thee, and the glory of them: for that is delivered unto me; and to whomsoever I will give it. If thou wilt worship me, all thine shall be thine.”)

 

Sounds eerily familiar, doesn’t it?

 

I have said, as well as the many others who are attending revival, we are hungry for God. But is that really what we are hungry for? Are we hungry for a life that is holy, that denies the desires of our flesh, to glory in our weakness rather than in our visions and revelations of Christ (as Paul says in II Corinthians 12:1-5)? Or is it something else we’ve been hungry for? I can tell you, after 30 years of all the preaching, teaching, conferences, healing schools, prophetic schools, etc., we have been after more than just God. We’ve been after His power. We are after His glory….which He will not share. (“I am the Lord: that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another….Isaiah 42:8.) It our seeking of the power and glory of God that leads to deception; it is to pursue another Jesus and preach another gospel!

 

We say that we are hungry for God, but if we are honest with ourselves, we are really looking to benefit from His power. The power of God has been something to be pursued with all of our heart, time and resources. Let’s be honest; spiritual power is tantalizing. “God’s power” represents, whether we realize it or not, a quick fix to put in order those areas of our life that we will not through repentance, self-control, and the taking up our own cross to follow Him. Oh, if we only desired to have Christ’s character operating in our lives as much we desire the operation of spiritual gifts and annointings!

 

To truly be a follower of Christ we must not only come to the foot of the cross, but we must be willing to get on the cross. How many of us would really follow Christ if there were no healings to be had, no outpourings to revel in? Would we rush to get to Florida to embracing lack, to know hunger, to suffer need, to be stoned, or beaten? How many of our present day “apostles” truly bear the marks of the gospel upon their bodies as did the Apostle Paul? (And I don’t mean tattoos either!)

 

Let’s face it, we’ve been running to Lakeland in hopes of getting something more…. something more for ourselves, something more for our churches, and something more for the world. We have been preoccupied with the thinking that God has somehow withheld something we must still pursue. It was exactly this kind of thinking that lead Eve into taking that first bite.

 

Thanks to Phil, and thanks you to all those of you out there who have put so much effort into many of your blogs and websites on the subject of the danger associated with this revival in Lakeland. Continue to speak the truth. Continue to walk in love towards those you know to be deceived. Without the love, the message cannot be heard.

 

I covet your prayers. Please remember also to pray for those coming out of this deception. Safe places of worship and fellowship will be key if we would ever truly follow after Christ.

 

46 thoughts on “Todd Bentley and the Florida Outpouring Part 8: Coming out of Deception

  1. Dear Dawn,

    Praise God for what He has revealed to you! I once belonged to an organization where many of the women wanted “more” of what He had for them and would go anywhere to get it. It was utterly heartbreaking. These were my friends; my sisters in the Lord. I spoke the truth in love, but sadly, it fell on deaf ears. I was the one who “didn’t get it,” who was “simply not as spiritual.”

    Your words are perfect. Less of us, Dawn. More of Him.

    Thank you for sharing your experience. I wish everyone affected could read your post.

    God bless you,

    Caron

  2. What a testimony!

    Thank you Dawn for writing it, and thank you Phil for sharing it with us. God bless you both…

    My prayer is that this testimony is shared, read and received in the Spirit it was written with those who continue to be blinded. I wept as i read it, knowing the courage and love for Christ it took to write it.

  3. Staying Within the Confines of the Word of God

    God has left us His Word and His Spirit to give us direction for our lives. Our lives are to be governed by the Word of God with the help of the Holy Spirit. (Psalm 119:105, John 16:13, Romans 8:14) When we go outside of the parameters of the Word of God we open the door to demonic deception. (Ephesians 4:27)

    There are 3 doctrines being taught in the church today that in my opinion are very harmful because they open the door to demonic power to manifest in the church. The first one is that if you are a prophet you can prophesy to anyone you want at will because you are a prophet. This doctrine violates the Word of God. The Word of God says in 1 Corinthians 12:11 the gifts of the Spirit operate as God wills, not as we will. 2 Peter 1:21 says that prophecy never comes by the will of man. Ironically if you get into verse one of chapter two he begins to warn the church about false prophets. When a person operates the gifts of the Spirit by his own will he opens the door to familiar spirits that are demonic to give him information. That person now becomes a Christian medium for demonic power. Even Jesus could not operate the gifts of the Spirit as He willed because He was operating as the son of man on the earth. He had put His mighty power and glory to the side and had to be anointed to function for God. (John 5:19, 20, 30, Philippians 2:7 TLB, Acts 10:38)

    The second doctrine that I also see that is damaging to the church is the doctrine of seeking angelic visitations and asking God to give you visions. No where in scripture do we see this. There is no biblical basis for this. The Bible says we walk by faith and not by sight. (2 Corinthians 5:7) Again seeing into the spirit realm is done thru the gift of discerning of spirits which is one of the 9 gifts of the Spirit in 1 Corinthians 12. Again like prophecy this gift operates as the spirit wills. When you go outside of the Word of God you open yourself up for demonic deception and you will begin to have visions of angels and Jesus but it will be devils that transform themselves as angels of light to deceive people.(2 Corinthians 11:12-15)

    Colossians2:18-19(The Message Translation)Don’t tolerate people who try to run your life, ordering you to bow and scrape, insisting that you join their obsession with angels and that you seek out visions. They’re a lot of hot air, that’s all they are. They’re completely out of touch with the source of life, Christ, who puts us together in one piece, whose very breath and blood flow through us. He is the Head and we are the body. We can grow up healthy in God

    The third doctrine that is damaging to the body of Christ is that you can go to Heaven and visit any time you want to. They use Hebrews 4:16, Ephesians 2:6 these doctrines are doctrines of devils devised in these last days to cause people to fall away. (1Timothy 4:1-2, 2 Timothy 4:1-5) When you start visualizing and doing some of the new age stuff they are teaching about this you will have supernatural experiences but they won’t be from Jehovah God but from the god of this world the devil.

    Hebrews 5:14 tells us that thru the use of the meat of the Word of God we train our senses to discern both good and evil. Let us judge things by the Word of God and the inward witness of the Holy Ghost.(1 Thessalonians 5:20-21, John 16:13, Romans 8:14,16, 1 John 4:1)

  4. Dawn, I have been there.Excellent testimony.

    I think it can all be summed up in ’scripture determines doctrine (or experiences) and not the other way round’. The experiences that people have is a recurring argument that I have with the defenders of Todd

    I must decrease and He must increase.

  5. It’s a shame that millions of people won’t show up to speak out against abortion, but they will run to a circus across the country in order to get a “touch” that lasts a night. I believe you’re right about how we seek the glory of God for ourselves; we want to be equal with God–the same thing that caused Satan to be cast out of heaven. We have invented “revival” services to make us feel good about the wickedness of our own hearts which is primarily concerned with setting our judgement up as being superior to the judgement of God. May the Lord have mercy on us all.

  6. Bless you, Dawn, for your open eyes. I, too, am just coming out of the charismatic church in search of a place to worship that favors discernment, integrity, and faithfulness to the Word of God rightly divided. You have my prayers, my encouragement, and my respect.

  7. Dawn,

    Awesome….Praise God. Your testimony was quite powerful and I can’t thank you enough for having the courage to share it. It is very hard to walk away from false teaching. We are creatures of habit and with all habits, good or bad, when we break one, we do pay a price in our fellowship with others.

    There is a lot of deception out there today. It’s very easy to get sucked into it. It looks right and sounds right, but it violates scripture. Praise God you see that.

    I can only pray that through your witness that God will raise the conciousness of more here today and in the future. Your testimony reveals the power of God to reveal & heal. He has given you eyes to see and ears to hear. All Glory to God for that.

  8. Very good information. I appreicate your genuine love for the I word of God. One of your points ministered to me in particular. I hope you will visit my blog at the website address that I left with you and be encouraged as well. Thank you for the grace that you have ministered pointing people to Jesus Christ. May God continue to bless others by His Spirit and Word through you.
    God Bless, Michael

  9. If people are being healed, getting peace, and feeling the awesome LOVE of God, then the outpouring is working. Power, works, and miracles are all wonderful. I long and desperately weep to do these things. But the most important thing we can do is to accept His love when it comes and to love the way that he loves. You can’t tell me that MOST people aren’t getting blessed at this revival. The few that aren’t went with the wrong mindset. These kind of things aren’t for everybody. God is moving there, so quit screaming at the volcano.

  10. May all of you learn to have faith like a child! Just because this revival does not fit ” your religious minds” it does not mean God is not moving there. My wife and daughter have been healed. People all over the world have received Jesus as Saviour. You believe what one person that you dont even know is telling you about what she thinks, but yet you wont go to the revival and find out for yourselves. The presence of The Lord is in that place whether you like it or not lol. Don’t you know we have the best Dad in the whole world? Lol. Oh Papa we love You. We need You. You are everything. The healing part is just an add-on in that place. God can heal you anytime and any place He wants. The worship is the main reason people go. All races and all different nations gathering just to worship Him together in one accord!!! Oh Jesus we love you. We love you Jesus!!!!! Our hearts are full of your love. Help us to love one another as You command us to do. And help us to be your witness to everyone me meet.
    God Bless

    Matthew 6:33 “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”
    Acts 2:17-19 “In the last days, God says,
    I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
    Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
    your young men will see visions,
    your old men will dream dreams.
    18Even on my servants, both men and women,
    I will pour out my Spirit in those days,
    and they will prophesy.
    19I will show wonders in the heaven above
    and signs on the earth below..”

    Gabriel

    Phil: Hi Gabriel….welcome to Theology Today….we are supposed to have childlike faith in Jesus……and the last time I checked Bentley isn’t Him…..there is a difference you know:)

  11. Daniel, your statements portray the exact reason we believe this is wrong. The focus is on people, not the Lord. Whether people are “getting blessed” or not, the question is about whether right doctrine is being preached and lives are transformed in a way that will bring honor to the name of our Saviour. I don’t know all the details of this event, but in watching at least an hour of the video coverage online on two separate occasions, I haven’t heard the first word that squares with Scripture.

  12. Gabriel you summed it up when you said ‘The worship is the main reason people go’. A lot of people like worship services and the worship experience but as Fr Daniel Sparks says “the question is about whether right doctrine is being preached”. On my site and on others, all I am hearing is about the experiences and doctrine is put to the backburner

  13. Dawn,

    Please know what an encouragement this testimony is! Praise the Lord that He brought you up of those falsehoods!

    Phil: keep doing the great work for the Lord, no matter what the brickbats are. Running blogs like ours is a tough job, but it’s for His glory alone.

    Soli deo Gloria!

  14. Dear Dawn

    It is a real comfort to read your testimony especially as I was so deeply deceived myself. I not only was deceived but I preached and teached the lies of Satan myself. On the one hand I feel abused by church leaders during the most impressionable years of my life as a teenager but on the other hand I realise I pursued my own idols of the heart. It took alot of soul searching and the sound doctrinal teaching of a friend and my father to uncover the lies I was believeing especially when my believe system was based on what was seen as a “move of God “. This so called “move” or “revival” was nothing less than mass hysteria, mass hypnosis and a misinterpretation of the Word of God.
    I have struggled to convince friends and fellow believers about the lies that they eating up and I have been branded by these friends as someone criticising God’s annointed, or someone bringing about a scism or division. In my pursuit to present the word of God correctly I have started a blog http://talkthetruth.wordpress.com/ and hope that fellow believers can find a source of good doctrine and a means to reason with fellow believers who are searching and handling the word of God correctly.
    Would you mind if I add your blog as a link?
    Continue keeping up the good work

    Your brother in Christ
    Brendan McCarthy (South Africa)

  15. All praise be to God, Brendan!

    You are not alone in being criticized for speaking the truth, brother. For folks like Phil and myself, these brickbats are par for the course when we try to warn others who are still being deluded by these big fat lies.

    I am overyjoyed that you will also be doing the Lord’s work to warn many of such lies, deception and heresy in these last days! Looking forward to read your blog soon.

    God bless you, Brendan, and keep contending for the faith!

    Shalom.

    Phil: Isaiah has a nice blog post that you should read Brendan;

    http://wordnverse.com/2008/05/30/top-10-responses-to-anyone-daring-to-point-out-false-teachers-and-teachings

  16. Thanks for the pitch, Phil. 🙂

    Phil: No problem my friend….I’ll bet we could write a book based on that subject alone…whatcha think?

  17. And then we’ll get rich and be no longer “illegal”! Um, wait, wrong blog… oops!

    Jokes aside, I think that’s a great idea, brother. I’ll see where my post leads from there and if God leads us in that direction. 🙂

  18. Re the comments of Daniel and Gabriel. Like many uninformed people today they assume that every healing is from God. At the time of Jesus members of the pagan healing cult of Asclepius experienced many ‘miraculous’ healings. Both the Jews and the Christians of the time agreed there was a demonic element in this cult. The end (a healing) does not justify the means (departing from Biblical truth).
    A good book to read about it is ‘Backgrounds of Early Christianity’ by Everett Ferguson.

  19. Ditto…

    My wife and I had been over at my mother’s house and happened to see God tv to watch what was going on. We watched for about an hour and a half. Testimonies and emails and a Hoorah of Woops and Hollars…ok…

    So, we came across the above “Emma” letter. Friends…this is a letter/teach BY TODD BENTLEY not about him….He wrote it.!

    NO WHERE IN THE BIBLE do we pray for angels to do something…nor to see them…nor for them to do something for us!!! Obviously, we don’t pray to them…but we pray to God alone and let Him send healing, eyes opened, or anything else the way He wants…or has written in His Word.

    The Holy Spirit is needed to understand the same One Who was needed to write the Word down in the first place.

    Our benchmark is the Word of God…or man’s opinion, feeling, or knowledge.

    Lee Iacocca use to work for Ford before he took over Chrysler. Do you think he still knew how the Ford Motor Company worked?

    God has an ex-employee that knows the power and authority of God…CAN SATAN DUPLICATE THE HOLY SPIRIT? NO…of course he can’t DUPLICATE IT.

    But ask yourself what people are seeking…via the eye (visions), ears (hearing angels), nose (smelling flowers) touch ( feeling “the fire”), toungue (tasting gold or whatever).

    The LUST OF THE FLESH IS IN FULL SWING… WHY ARE THE SENSES SO IMPORTANT TO THE CONFIRMATION OF FAITH?

    READ MATTHEW 7….ALL THE WAY THROUGH…please, I urge those who want it fast…and want it now….don’t just. “Get some”.

    Make your calling and election sure.

    Please make sure you are Saved.

    Think…when Jesus was on this Earth…He…
    healed diseases
    raised the dead
    performed miracles
    cast out demons…
    this was all…BEFORE HE WENT TO THE CROSS.

    So why did Jesus die on the cross?

    to heal us?…do miracles?…cast out demons?…raise the dead?…ABSOLUTELY NOT….He could already do all this!

    We broke God’s Laws and Jesus made atonement…paid our fine.
    That’s the gospel…

    By the way, I had my mom record may 23rd and I saw another unconfirmed death raising…HE SAID, “We have no confirmation for this.” But Hooped and Hollered…also in reading the letter it said…”Praise to God and to Todd Bentley.”….God doesn’t share His praise…

    He also prayed for the sick in groups of calling out the names of the diseases at least 4 times.
    Each time he called out 5 to 20 infirmities…
    At least twice he said….”I COMMAND arthritis, I COMMAND new livers, I COMMAND influenza, to come out NOW!”….

    Not uncommon, except not using Jesus’ name…then a few minutes later he went into more commanding…and 2 out of at least 4 times he DID NOT USE THE LORD’S NAME TO CAST OUT THE SICKENESSES.

    THE GOSPEL IS TOUCHED UPON…BUT IN GOD’S WORD…REPENTANCE IS NECESSARY FOR SALVATION.

    Much less the lack of caution that is so clear in the Word…wonder why?

    If our experiences are held in higher esteem than the Word of God…then God will give us over to our own affections.

    By the way, my brother in law has MS…went up on stage as well slumped over in a wheelchair…(not his condition a week prior. He sat up stood and proclaimed the healing through Todd’s Christ.

    HE NOW IS CONFUSED HOW GOD DOES A SHORT TIME HEALING AND HAS REVERTED TO A MUCH WORSE CONDITION.

    My wife and I have prayed for the Savior’s healing…please keep him in your prayer as well.

    CAN WE GO AND JUST GET WHAT WE WANT FROM GOD…not the one from the Bible.

    WE ARE TO GO TO HIM ON HIS CONDITIONS.

    DO WE USE THE WORD OF GOD FOR OUR BENEFITS OR ASK GOD WHAT HIS REQUIREMENTS FOR US ARE!?

    God has a pasture which He calls us into…we can go through “the Gate/the Way/the Door” Jesus Christ alone…or we can go over the back fence and still get in. Do we get to stay in?…read if you think yes.

    OK JUST READ A WHOLE CHAPTER IN THE NEW TESTAMENT AND READ EVERY VERSE…NOT JUST THE VERSES THAT WE ARE WAITING FOR.

    Passionately , IN HIS WILL (prayerfully)…TRACTTEAMJAX@aol.com

  20. Hi Alan,

    Your post touched me because I witnessed first hand in two of my immediate family members, the spiritual confusion that results when a healing doesn’t happen and the person thought and declared they were healed. Both cases were very hard to deal with.

    One, I’m still dealing with. It makes them question their faith, their position before God, it gives them a false sense of security that is yanked out when the ailment is back – with force, and it leaves them unequiped to deal with it.

    This is a form of cruelty of the highest magnitude to human beings who are in a weakened state already then as if that isn’t enough, they want all their money too.

    I have no tolerance for those who come here trying to defend this mess because what I’ve witnessed in my family was nothing short of an attempted spiritual abortion.

    Phil: This is why I’m so tough on the signs and wonders He healed them all club…..Their unbalanced teachings destroy peoples faith….and reinforces unbelievers doubts….totally irresponsible and I will continue to contend those who teach irresponsibly at every opportunity!

  21. Dorothy I have experienced the same thing. You see for me believing the gospel was easy , however believing that the bible is the word of God was hard indeed and caused me to become an idiot and an outcast to all in the religious community. I was once taken to a meeting and healing revival by some friends I had contended with about the word of God. This gathering was lead by a supposed anointed man who came from Benny Hinn’s camp. While all the people stood and testified about the miracles of healed backs and other interior aliments, a young couple with a down syndrome child stood in the front holding this poor child while the preacher laid his hands on it and commanded healing. Nothing happened. I watched them walk away after the service and it was heart breaking. Phil I agree and have and will do also, regardless of the opinion of the masses.

  22. Hello,

    I’m a product of the “sheparding movement” (Derick Prince, Bob Mumford, Charles Simpson) – when I was a child my mother brought me into a church called Shiloh in East Lansing (now called New Covenant). I was very wounded and have struggled with my faith since I left that church in the 90’s. I continue to struggle with what is true. I’ve watched my own mother chase the “more spiritual power, more manifistations, higher spiritual levels” since I was 11 years old (I’m now 45). I have watched her go through numerous moves (different states, towns), to numerous spirit-filled churches, through numerous husbands (the last three were born again Christians and she is currently divorced from husband number 4) and in search of that “spiritual high”. My mom finds that high – but guess what? It NEVER lasts. The Lakeland revival has her on her newest high and now her only three grandchildren (girls ages 10 yrs, 6 yrs and 4 yrs – my children) are going to miss their grandma very much as she’ll be living miles away from us (God called her to move near me in Wisconsin 6 years ago but now God is calling her back to S. Carolina). She cried on the phone to me a few days ago saying sorry she is hurting me once again but God is calling her and she has to listen to Him. I told my mom that this feeling too will wear off – but her response was – “oh no, this is different”, I’ve heard that before!!!!! This has really challenged my faith and I’m sad for the example she is to my children – her only grandchildren. I love my mom but I would never, ever want to be the kind of Christian she is, and she claims that she is at a much higher spiritual level than I am – and I thank God for that I am not at her spiritual level. It’s been a very very sad week for me and has made me wonder if Todd Bently is really from God.

  23. Hi Phil,

    How many of their victims do you know that lie? I know of two… It’s amazing that when the truth of their physical condition is before their eyes, they will still deny it publicly and privately and they call that living by “faith”. When we have a doctrine that brings forth lies, we KNOW it’s a God mocking doctrine.

    Then when you finally get them to admit to the lies, that’s when you get a good look at the spiritual destruction. It’s a horror to behold and the damage takes years to undo.

    Like you, I will continue the fight to expose it for what it is.

    Phil: I couldn’t agree with you more…..

  24. Hi Boyd,

    That’s the dark side of their so called doctrine and I don’t know how in the world they can get on stage, or in a pulpit, look those people in the eye and then blame it on their lack of faith when their child isn’t healed.

    This isn’t like it’s a one time event for these so called faith healers. This is repeated over and over before their very eyes.

    A parent who has a seriously ill child, does not put them on display in these meetings with a “lack of faith”. Anyone who knows parents of these children knows how close they guard them from a public display of failure. I can say with certainty, it isn’t the parents lack of faith that’s the issue here.

  25. Praise the Lord for one more eye opened to the deception of our day.

    Dawn, dear sister, you just keep your eyes on Jesus. Let it be an undivided devotion. You have Him – you have all there is to have already. There are no hidden secrets and truths that can add anything to what we have already. God bles you!

    Phil, keep up the good work. Keep your eyes on the Lord too.

    Our Lord is so faithful, as well as able. He will keep us standing to the end.

    PS: I put up Dawn’s testimony on my blog too (Coming out of deception

  26. Robeaner,

    I’m sorry to hear of your Mom. I know several people like this. They moved to Florida years ago because no church in our state was good enough, no pastor was anointed enough to lead them. So they packed up their kids and moved where Brownsville and River were. Now they’re fully involved in Bentley’s Emma angel

    We call them revival groupies.

    Reminds me of Ephesians 4:14-15 “As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ”

  27. My heartand prayers go out to all those who have been caught up in this Todd Bentley revival in Lakeland and others like it. We in the church have gotten so lazy and so used to depending on those who we feel are more “enlightened” then us to tell us what God says that we do not think for ourselves anymore. We are in an entertainment mode and we need to snap out of it! Scripture tells us in I John 4 to test the spirits because not all spirits are of God. Jesus also tells us in Matthew 7 that by their fruits we shall know them. I read responses continually claiming that we are not to judge. This assumption is based on Matthew 7:1. It is proper interpretation to read the verse in context. What comes before and after the verse? If Matthew 7:1 is kept in context it becomes clear that judgment is necessary for our spiritual well being and that Jesus commands us to be fruit inspectors. Tell me how you can inspect fruit without forming some kind of judgment? We are told how to judge rightly in Matthew 7, we are not told to abstain from judgment. Also, we are never to judge those who are outside of the Body of Christ but we are certainly instructed by Jesus himself to rightly judge those who claim to belong to the Body of Christ. I have seen at times in Todd Bentley’s revival meetings where the reading the Word is impossible due to the interruptions of noise , laughter and disorder. God’s Word is precious to Him, ask yourself why would He prevent the reading of it among His people? God is sovereign and He will heal when and where He wants according to His will, not ours. This brings to my mind Joni Erickson Tada, she has asked for healing and has not received it but she is a woman of tremendous faith and she is content knowing that she is living in the will of God for her life. When healing does not come it is not always due to lack of faith, instead it is God’s will. God uses many venues for healing, sometimes it is miraculous, sometimes it is by the medical professionals, sometimes it is by death. You need not be in Lakeland at Todd Bentley’s revival to receive healing. Where you are has nothing to do with receiving healing. My daughter received healing in the privacy of our home. Jesus has set us free from bondage. All these meetings do is bring God’s people back into bondage not only to themselves via their emotions but also bondage to others by having their followers depend on them for spiritual food and guidance. Our food is found in our continual reading of the Word and if we yeild to the Holy Spirit, He will guide us into all truth.

  28. “Let’s face it, we’ve been running to Lakeland in hopes of getting something more…. something more for ourselves,” says Dawn..

    Wasn’t that a wrong attitude towards revival in the first place Dawn? Christianity isn’t about self-seeking but God-seeking surely!

    Phil: That was her point Chris…..in your opinion why are people going to Lakeland enmasse?

  29. EXACTLY my point, Phil. The answer therefore, as I said is “more of God in their lives”

    Why would one want the Holy Spirit for oneself? Not for selfish reasons.

    Noone would say it’s selfish to desire “the greater spiritual gifts e.t.c.” They’re clearly given for the BENEFIT of the Church e.t.c.

    LIKE Dawn’s attitude, if anyone would desire these things for the wrong attitude (selfish reasons), then they can forget it.

    Phil: Chris….Dawn has repented of this because she found that she wasn’t really getting “more of God”.

    Question;

    How can one with sincere motives attend a revival to get “more of God” if God’s Word isn’t being preached?

  30. 1 Corinthians 4:20
    For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power.

    Phil: Chris…context is everything…..lets look at this passage again and see if you’ve rightly divided the Word….

    14I am not writing this to shame you, but to warn you, as my dear children. 15Even though you have ten thousand guardians in Christ, you do not have many fathers, for in Christ Jesus I became your father through the gospel. 16Therefore I urge you to imitate me. 17For this reason I am sending to you Timothy, my son whom I love, who is faithful in the Lord. He will remind you of my way of life in Christ Jesus, which agrees with what I teach everywhere in every church.

    18Some of you have become arrogant, as if I were not coming to you. 19But I will come to you very soon, if the Lord is willing, and then I will find out not only how these arrogant people are talking, but what power they have. 20For the kingdom of God is not a matter of talk but of power. 21What do you prefer? Shall I come to you with a whip, or in love and with a gentle spirit?

    I think you should re-examine this passage Chris…..

  31. Phil. I know it well in it’s context and I stand by it…..read it again.

    I gave the shortened version merely due to lack of time.

  32. Point taken Phil. I take that back. This is the verse:-

    1 Thessalonians 1:5
    because our gospel came to you not simply with words, but also with power, with the Holy Spirit and with deep conviction. You know how we lived among you for your sake.

    Phil: Let’s look at the rest of the Chapter…..

    6You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit. 7And so you became a model to all the believers in Macedonia and Achaia. 8The Lord’s message rang out from you not only in Macedonia and Achaia—your faith in God has become known everywhere. Therefore we do not need to say anything about it, 9for they themselves report what kind of reception you gave us. They tell how you turned to God from idols to serve the living and true God, 10and to wait for his Son from heaven, whom he raised from the dead—Jesus, who rescues us from the coming wrath.

    My contention is that the Gospel isn’t being preached Chris….how can one model themself after Christ if Christ isn’t being preached?

  33. 1Timothy 6:6 But godliness with contentment is great gain.

    This is the hardest lesson to learn, to be content with what God gives you.
    I must confess I struggle with that everyday.
    That is the peace without understanding the scriptures tell of.
    To what Dawn said, amen,amen,amen.
    I pray that more people will have their eyes opened, to see what these movements are really about.
    Give me more,more,more……..
    Unfortunately, I don’t think it’s Jesus they really want more of.
    John the Baptist said : John 3:30 He must increase, but I must decrease.
    I think we ALL forget that at times.

  34. I’d like to comment on what Chris said. I feel I have an unique insight because I have been involved in several of the “revivials” that have passed through the Country over the last 15 years or so. As well as being part the Jesus Movement and Shepherding Movements in the 70’s. I’ve been in the “inner circles” of a number of these so called “movements of God” and have seen over time, from the inside out, what many commenting on these blogs do not. I’m just wanting to share with you from my first hand experiences over many years.

    Chris said: “Why would one want the Holy Spirit for oneself? Not for selfish reasons. No one would say it’s selfish to desire “the greater spiritual gifts e.t.c.” They’re clearly given for the BENEFIT of the Church e.t.c. But like Dawn’s attitude, if anyone would desire these things for the wrong attitude (selfish reasons), then they can forget it.

    Dawn says “But ahhhhhh….theses wrong attitudes are actually very subtley cultivated within believers by teachers over long periods of time by the “great” men/preachers/teachers in Pentecostal and Charamatic circles. What is often taught in public is not what is shared with the “more mature” or those trusted to be helping in building a work for the Lord. We are subtly encouraged to begin to desire more , more of God, more of His power to help establish His kingdom here in on earth. Those of us who will walk in elevated levels of “power” are thought to be the leaders that are being raised up by the Holy Spirit, to help lead the rest of the body of Christ into maturity. Therefore, the more spiritual power that is in operation in your life, the more leadership can look to you to help build THE Kingdom and teach/mentor others coming into our churches or movements. Yes, I ‘m familiar with I Cor 12 and 14, about desiring spiritual gifts…..But we are being taught is just not about desiring the gifts listed in scripture…but the MORE MATURE can reachout in through portals to pull down from heaven what we need for our families, our churhes, our regions. We can be taught to exercize spiritual power to summon angels to work go and work for us! (Chapter and verse on this one?) We are taught to go on extended fasts/prayer in order to have “out of body” experiences and travel in heavenly realms. This is not necessarily taught in churches openly…….yet!! But is in more underground circles, and with enough time, and with revivals like Todds….these teaching are becoming more main stream.

    Todd’s revival caused me to do some digging back in to the history of some of these moves of God. What I found astonished me. There were great heresies that began to surface, particularly in the 1940’s during the great healing revivals. These same heresies have resurrected themselves in recent years…and what was reject by much of pentecostal/charismatic circles back then as heresy is now being embraced with open arms and taught to megachurches around the country.

    But don’t take my word for it….I pulled a few of these lines out of Frances Fraingapane’s Book, “The Days of His Presence”

    *1. “We are “Sons of light and Sons of Day.” We are a hybrid people ,believe in the light, in order that you may become sons of light.” ……We can achieve much more light and power than we have allowed ourselves. Great power from God shall rest upon those who are choosing now to humble themselves before Him.

    *2. Even now, the Holy Spirit is descending, hover, and brooding over you. To your “new creation self” the voice of the Lord commands “Arise,! Shine! Shake yourself from the depression in which circumstances have kept you! You are standing at the threshold of God’s glory!”

    *3. You see, God’s plan is that here on earth, IN US, the glory of the Lord will be revealed! The luminous, radiant light of His Presence, as it shone from Moses’ face and flooded Solomon’s temple, as it radiated from Jesus and bathed His disciples on the Mount of Transfiguration – that light of God’s Presence shall arise from within US at the end of the age! This same divine glory shall,in ever-increasing degrees of brightness, appear unpon us in the years prior to the Lord’s actual second coming. ….God is qualifying us to receive HIS SPLENDOR!!!

    Taken from: Francis Frangipange/The Days of His prescence)

    This is ANOTHER GOSPEL, ANOTHER JESUS! And many are embracing this Jesus, this power, this gospel to their own demise!!

  35. Hi Linda,

    I’m curious, just what scriptural violations do you see here?

    Also, what is your opinion of God’s Word? Do you only have to follow it until you get “additional” divine revelation, or do you consider it God breathed and infallible?

  36. I would like to be brief.

    I had friend who went to Florida and I know he and his description of the meetins were positive. I will tell you why. Many people are there to seek God, is not about Todd but they are there to seek Gods presence. Why ? because they are children. They are children in faith or in either way of being christians. Most I believe with little biblical knowledge or christians who havent tasted to power of the Word.

    The Word of God has amazing power in it. it is sad that we dont see Bible teachers risking to pray for healings as bold as Bentley.

    One thing is for sure ,his teaching in his books are off(Todd’s). To claim a spiritual eye walk its against what faith is. We walk by faith and not by sight. Paul also says that God is Invisible. 1 Cor 13 states that we prophesy in part and know in part. How then can you claim that God wants to open the spiritual eyes to see fully?

    Paul had his share in 2 Corinthians 11 Paul calls some false teachers as super apostles, and he complained that the church puts up with it easily enough.

    The same is true today, But if Gods children are coming to him to receive a touch. if they need a touch,if thats all they need for the moment lets not stop them.

    Yes, they will say is the end time revival and Jesus himself would attend it coming on stage…Yes they hold on to one bible verse and angrly repeat what the pastor said as if it was the Word of God.

    And Yes they wont seek into about Todd Bentleys lack of sound doctrine.

    I will finish with this verse from Isaiah 58, hope you take time to read the whole chapter and see how God sees those who seek him.

    For day after day they seek me out;
    they seem eager to know my ways,
    as if they were a nation that does what is right
    and has not forsaken the commands of its God.
    They ask me for just decisions
    and seem eager for God to come near them.

    3 ‘Why have we fasted,’ they say,
    ‘and you have not seen it?
    Why have we humbled ourselves,
    and you have not noticed?’
    “Yet on the day of your fasting, you do as you please
    and exploit all your workers.

    4 Your fasting ends in quarreling and strife,
    and in striking each other with wicked fists.
    You cannot fast as you do today
    and expect your voice to be heard on high.

    5 Is this the kind of fast I have chosen,
    only a day for a man to humble himself?
    Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed
    and for lying on sackcloth and ashes?
    Is that what you call a fast,
    a day acceptable to the LORD ?

  37. The above text goes for both, also for the critics…its not good to sit back and find the argument…we ,since we are full of the word ought to go out and do the work of God.

    People are obviously hungry for it, they are listening to a lot of different sources these days.

  38. What about the ones of us who went to Lakeland and received our healing after 10 years of praying? Some of you seem to be saying that no one was healed or anyone claiming to be healed is lying. Are you god that you know all things? Any man who went to Lakeland seeking Todd was a fool. You will find what you seek. Some of us actually went seeking God and His presence and found Him. I don’t understand the “seeking an experience” argument. Our whole life is an experience including the time we spend reading His Word. If anyone claims that growing closer to God isn’t an experience then they are either fooling themselves or simply lying. I didn’t agree with everything Todd said. Actually, I’m yet to meet any preacher / teacher / evangelist that I agree with everything they say. All I know is “by His stripes we were healed”. “Were” as in it’s already done and we don’t have to wait for the “sweet by and by” to get it. I have x-rays to prove mine and would say I will share them, but many of you seem so vindictive against anything that you don’t agree with I wouldn’t want you people to know who I am.

  39. LETS REMEMBER THE GIFTS OF THE SPIRIT I know if you dont have the love of GOD THOSE GIFTS MEAN NOTHING BUT IF GOD CAN USE A JACKASS TO TALK TO A PROPHET AND KEEP THE SUN UP AT THE REQUEST OF JOSHUA THEN GOD CAN USE ANYBODYMHE MANTS I WATCH THE REVIVAL AND I WAS HEALED MY SISTER WAS HEALED OF BACK PROBLEM SO WHO ARE TO WE QUESTION WWHO GOD CHOOSE TO USE AT THIS TIME

    Phil: It’s always interesting whenever someone defends one of these wolves they always say “If God can use a jackass God can use anybody”….and the term jackass is a fitting one for Bentley….

    Cruz. How do you know God used this “revival” to heal you and your loved ones?

Comments are closed.