Joel Osteen

One of the sites I visit daily is Melvin Jones amazing blog Pulpit Pimps. In fact his work inspired me to begin this blog over one year ago. He’s done a series of posts lately on Joel Osteen but one in particular stayed with me…and today I would like to hopefully expand upon Chris Wallace’s interview with Osteen Melvin used as a basis for his post….

 

Here’s the first exchange I’d like to examine….the rest of the transcript can be found here.

 

WALLACE: Someone said, “You know, Joel Osteen has not had much formal training as a pastor.” And your response was you said, “Neither did the 12 disciples of Jesus.”

Are you comfortable with that comparison?

OSTEEN: Well, I think I am. It’s just I’m all for education, and I have, you know, friends that have been through seminary and gotten their doctorate and all. But it just so happened with me. I know this is right for me.

And I think so. I mean, I know, you know, back in Bible days, there were these famous schools of the prophets, but some of the ones Jesus chose didn’t come through that route — and not to say that they weren’t good, but I’m comfortable.

He’s kidding right? Comparing his limited education to the superb training the Apostles received sitting at the foot of the Master is like comparing apples to oranges. I suppose a comparison could be made with one of the disciples….

 

 

Another nugget from the mouth of Joel;

WALLACE: And you know, obviously, you are making an enormous amount of money with the television show, with these best-selling books.

How do you personally — how does Joel Osteen keep himself safe, guard against being corrupted by all the temptations that must surround you?

OSTEEN: Yeah. I think there’s a couple things. One, I like to start my day off every morning, take the first half hour and just search my own heart, see if I’m on the right course, try to be honest with myself — am I doing this for the right reasons?

Two, I have good family around me that I think can speak into my life. And the other thing is, you know, I’m — I realize that as quick as you go up, you can really come down that quick. And we’ve seen it happen with others.

So I just try to not really think about it. I don’t feel any different than I did eight years ago.

Joel doesn’t rely on Jesus to keep him from temptation….he relies on Joel for this. At least I can’t call him a hypocrite as he does indeed practice what he preaches. His “gospel” is all about him….and having his “best life now” so why should we expect anything less then the answer he gave Chris Wallace?

What about starting your day with prayer and biblical devotions Joel? If he does ever read his bible he may stumble across this verse;

2 Timothy 2:15 (ESV)

15 Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.

 

Any “Pastor” or any true “Christian” who recognizes an adherent of the Mormon teachings as  “Christian” hasn’t been studying his bible and should be ashamed to even make a statement as Osteen did in that interview.

 

2 Timothy 4:1-2 (ESV)

1 I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom:
2
 preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.

Osteen doesn’t preach the Word of God…he preaches a feel good message emphasizing the here and now rather then the hereafter.

 

2 Timothy 4:3-4 (ESV)

 

3         For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions,
4 and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.

 

 

The above Scriptures perfectly describes the end result of Osteen’s failure to reprove, rebuke and exhort. 48,000 weekly attendees as well as the millions who tune in to his telecasts and purchase his books are being spiritually starved and being led right into the abyss.

 

 

 

Sadly, I doubt much will change. Joel Osteen hasn’t had a desire to learn God’s Word during his 2 years or so at ORU…..or during his 17 years or so as the producer of his father’s media ministry….or during his 8 years or so at Lake of Fire. It’s my hope that he begins to study and to biblically lead…..but I won’t hold my breath! 

 

5 thoughts on “Joel Osteen

  1. Hi All,

    I dunno what happened, but to see the whole post you have to highlight the blank area in the middle. Did I say how much I detest the internet and computers!!

  2. Hate computers…hmmm…Welcome to my world.

    Computers = spawn from hell that exists for no other reason than to make my life miserable.

    Phil:LOL! I’m about 2 seconds away from chuckin my laptop into the Ionion….Thanks for stopping by my friend!

  3. Computers are a joy until down. I’m working on a new animation program so they do have some value. Glad you’re back Phil. By the by do you actually live in Athens?

    Phil: I live in Corfu…..and yes, they do have some value….living on an island doesn’t make things easy when they break down!

  4. Phil, are you on an island voluntarily, or are you in exile?? Can we expect any manuscripts shortly that begin…….

    “Reformation 1:9 I Phil, who also am your brother, and companion in tribulation, and in the kingdom and patience of Jesus Christ, was in the isle that is called Corfu, for the word of God, and for the testimony of Jesus Christ.”

    Phil: Voluntarily…I think lol! Nah, no manuscripts from me like that.

  5. Phil how is it going? When I see or here Osteen something comes up in me and I just can’t listen to him. Why should he learn any Bible he don’t really believe it.

Comments are closed.