Your Biblical Opinions Please?

Last night, while waiting to watch precious Paula White being interviewed by Larry King, I saw something I personally have never seen in ministry. Interim ORU President Billy Joe Daugherty and his wife Sharon shared the pulpit and preached a message together titled “Integrity”. This wasn’t a special conference but a normal (at least for them) church service. Have any of you ever witnessed something like this?  Daugherty’s half hour broadcast was very interesting as it raised two questions one ethical and one biblical, that I’d like to get your reactions to. 1). If a woman is standing alongside her husband, can she share in front of a mixed congregation? Is this biblical?  2). Daugherty owns a “bible institute” and simultaneously serves as interim president at ORU. Is this ethical?  I’m looking forward to your thoughts on ether one or both of these topics.   

8 thoughts on “Your Biblical Opinions Please?

  1. Hi Phil,

    Is this a trick question? :))

    If I get home early tonight or later this weekend, I’ll put forth my 2 cents worth….do I send a check, wire transfer or will you accept cash? :))

    Dorothy

    Phil: I prefer euros Dorothy:)

  2. “I prefer euros ”

    LOL

    Do you know the conversion rate of dollars to eruos right now? If it’s too wide, I may not have enough money to post. :))

    If that be the case will you accept some women’s rolls? I can’t promise they won’t be burnt offerings.

    Dorothy

  3. Dorothy,

    You have a real good sense of humour for a grandmother. I thought the question so too, so I decided to leave it for now. Will post later.

    Phil, hope too much of TBN is not “robbing” off on you. 🙂

  4. Hi Naomi,

    LOL – Yes, I laugh a lot. Having grandchildren helps. LOL

    Now to the question at hand and my 2 cents worth. From what I have read, Billy Joe Daugherty’s wife, Sharon, is a pastor. Of course, as I hold federal headship as the correct scriptural position, then from my seat in the stands, by allowing his wife to teach from the pulpit, he is endorsing women in that role. At least that’s the message that comes across to me. A mixed audience is not relevant. All the male leaders of Israel addressed mixed audiences. While the Daughertys may have preached on “integrity”, I look at the integrity of scripture and don’t see it supported in their actions.

    So, should my position be the correct position and I believe it to be so, we now add to loss of integrity of scripture, the possible ethical issue of running two competing organizations. So my thoughts on this issue is that ORU might as well batten down the hatches and prepare for another scandal or at the least the constant tug of war like that of a man who has two wives.

    I was going to post a more scriptural response but ran out of steam. I am interested in seeing what others have to say on the topic. Time permitting, I may do a more through search of scripture tomorrow and expand my thoughts here.

    My euros are in the mail….:)

    Dorothy

  5. Good post Dorothy. You nailed it with the co-pastor. She’s now acting in the role of church leadership which makes her speaking alongside her husband un-biblical.

    Let’s suppose she’s NOT the co-pastor and she’s up there giving a word alongside her husband. Then, she’s ok because her husband is her covering (1Corinthians 11). At least that’s how I see it.

    I tend to agree with you that Billy Joe has a bit of a conflict of interest. I’m reminded of the Scripture that says how can two walk together unless they are in agreement. I believe this applies to this situation. I also agree that more trouble is on the way for ORU.

    I received an email blasting me for not doing more with the ORU scandal. One of the reasons I didn’t was simply common sense. I mean, how credible can a school be when their founder claims to have seen a 900 foot Jesus with 100 foot hands? You almost expect this kind of nonsense and what’s going on there doesn’t surprise me in the least. It’s a pity that Mr. Whipple passed away as he would be the perfect pitchman for the Doctoral program at ORU. I reckon they use 3ply sheets to keep the ink from running through the paper that those degrees are printed on.

    There, I covered it!!!

  6. Hi Phil,

    I was very pleased to see you say that IF she wasn’t a pastor then her husband covered her. I agree. But she is a pastor and that’s a horse of another color. 1 Tim 3:5 comes to mind here “for if a man does not know how to rule his own house, how will he take care of the Church of God?”

    Dorothy

  7. “Precious Paula White”? What an imbecile! Pimping Paula is only after one thing: To seperate you from your money!

    Wise up, people; you White, Olstein, Copeland, etc. lovers are being swept up into a CULT of personality. The Lord ain’t nowhere to be found. They all worship the almighty, alright. The almighty dollar.

  8. Phil,

    Sorry about the “imbecile” remark. First time to the site. After reading further, I think your “precious” Paula remark was sarcasm. If so, I’m sorry. Not sorry about berating others who follow these Prosperity Pimps.

    Sorry about mispelling Osteen, also. Must be getting him confused with the Olsen twins! Ha Ha!

Comments are closed.