Trust, Delight and Commit

 

 

Psalm 37:3 Trust in Jehovah, and do good; you shall

dwell in the land, and you shall be fed on truth.  

Psalm 37:4 Delight yourself also in Jehovah, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.  

Psalm 37:5 Roll your way on Jehovah; trust also in Him, and He will work.  

The above section of Scripture has been the most important lesson for me in my Christian walk. I’d like to share with you three things I learned from David that I hope and pray will bless you in your own walk with God. 

The first thing David did was trust God. From the time David was a little boy, God’s Hand was on his life. David learned that he could place all of his hopes and fears into God’s loving hand. David trusted God with his life and God never let him down. This was how David grew to trust God for everything in his life. God rose up a little known shepherd boy and made him a king because David trusted God with his whole heart. 

Do you trust God with your whole heart? Do you believe God for everything? Look around you and think about all the people you know and hopefully there are some you can trust. Would any of them send their child to suffer and die the most horrible death imaginable? God did that for you. God showed His unconditional love for you and I with the most selfless and sacrificial gift that anyone can give. He sent his only Son for you and me. I think it’s a safe bet that we all can trust God with all the details of our lives. 

The next thing David tells us is to delight in the Lord. David sought his happiness in God. He continually looked to God for his pleasure and delight. David made mistakes and serious errors in judgment, but he learned that he could only be happy when he was doing the will of God. David’s sin may have given him some pleasure, but he learned the hard way that only God could give him true pleasure and all the desires of his heart. 

Do you seek your happiness from God? Have you ever sought pleasure and wound up with a painful experience? I know that when I seek those things that bring me instant gratification, pain generally follows. Trying to delight in myself or others always brings trouble. Is this the same for you as it was for David? When I am outside of the will of God, pleasure is always followed by pain. I’m learning everyday that my delight is in doing His will for my life. That’s the only time I’m truly happy and at peace in my heart and mind.  

David then tells us that what we must also do is commit ourselves to God. When David committed fully to God’s plan for his life, great things happened for him. When he didn’t trouble always followed. David grieved in his heart when he knew that he offended God because he was fully committed to Him.  

Committing fully to someone or something can be extremely difficult to do. We begin this by learning to trust someone, which usually brings with that trust happiness. Finally, we commit ourselves fully to this person. At least this is the normal process. I know in my own life that I’m much more focused when I place all that I am into what I’ve decided to commit to. 

Have you committed yourself completely to God? Do you trust Him, and Him alone to bring you happiness and give you all the desires of your heart? Are you a professing Christian but not a committed Christian? David was committed to God. He wasn’t fickle in anything he did in his life. David knew God well enough to know that God wanted all of him and not just a piece here and a part there. 

That wasn’t me for sure. I just gave God a little bit here and there. I just didn’t trust God completely for my happiness and worked on my own steam. Sure, I achieved success, but was never truly happy. Often I felt I was missing out on something. I needed to learn that my happiness only comes from a right and proper relationship with God the Father and Jesus the Son. The day I finally committed my life to Him was without a doubt the best day of my life. I feel satisfied and content in my life and couldn’t be happier or hungrier for God. 

So, how do we put all of this into practice? Read the stories in the Old Testament and see what happens to the individuals who trusted God for all of their needs. God delivered them every time. When they didn’t trust God, they suffered for it. The God who delivered His people will do the same for you in your time of need.  From the wonderful examples of saints of the past, we can learn to really trust God for all our needs because He truly does provide for us when we trust Him. 

Finally, commit yourself fully to God. Give everything over to Him and watch how much better your life will be. Study the New Testament and learn what God requires and just give it over to Him.  Don’t try to fix things yourself. He will add and subtract when He is ready.  You’ll be happier then you’ve ever been in your life. 

 

I saw this outline on the new Jim Bakker Show and couldn’t have been more happier for anyone in my life….I hope Jim continues this sort of thing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Trust, Delight and Commit

  1. This was good reading.
    I am trusting God for a godly man
    who is not ficle and whose heart
    is loyal toward God. I can say with
    all of my heart that I have
    never trusted God more than
    i am right now. I am in a good place.
    Blessed be His name for He withholds nothing
    that is good from those whose walk is blameless

  2. Thank you for the uplifting commentary it was a blessing. As Christians the Bible tells us we will face fiery trials at times but the joy of The Lord is our strength. Knowing Jesus will never leave us nor forsake us is a promise each Christian can rely on. To know God loves us so much that He has numbered the very hairs on our head and keeps each tear we cry in a bottle makes realize how precious it is to belong to Jesus.

Comments are closed.